Schools to see principal changes


Students at both elementary schools in Fort Frances will see new principals after the Rainy River District School Board announced at its regular meeting Tuesday night some changes in assignment for the 2013-14 year.
Bill Daley, currently principal at J.W. Walker School, will become the principal at Robert Moore School while Robert Moore principal Dianne Thompson will move to J.W. Walker.
Additionally, Cam Keast, vice-principal at Robert Moore, will relocate to Donald Young School in Emo as the vice-principal there.
Donna Kowalski, the current vice-principal at Donald Young, will move to Robert Moore.
And at Fort Frances High School, Peg Keffer officially will move into the role of principal there.
FFHS teacher Shane Bliss will become a vice-principal.
Also at Tuesday’s meeting, the board:
•named Harrold Boven as Bus Driver of the Year;
•recognized Bill Woodgate and Ken Stainthorpe as Volunteers of the Year;
•heard from Shane Bliss regarding the success of the School Within a College (SWAC) program;
•listened to speech contest winner Emma Dykstra recite her speech;
•approved the 2013-14 budget in the amount of $48,175,281;
•approved the following policies: 6.25 (School Boundary Review), 5.30 (Curriculum Review, Development and Implementation), 1.42 (Board and Committee Members Attending Meetings Electronically), and 7.16 (Use of Board-Owned Vehicles);
•approved the following policies for stakeholder consultation: 6.70 (Disposal of Surplus Equipment, Furniture, and Books) and 3.85 (Employee Conflict-of-Interest);
•heard a report from student trustee Dexter Fichuk and honoured him for his work over the past year; and
•heard a report on the summer facility projects from Travis Enge.
The school board’s next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, Sept. 3 at 7 p.m. at the Education Centre here.