School board chairs, vice-chairs acclaimed


Rainy River District School Board trustees Mike Lewis and Dianne McCormack will be returning as chair and vice-chair following Tuesday night’s regular monthly meeting here.
The pair were acclaimed for a second year by their fellow trustees.
Lewis represents Atikokan while McCormack represents the Rainy River area.
Northwest Catholic District School Board trustees, meanwhile, also acclaimed Anne-Marie Fitzgerald as chair at its regular meeting on Saturday.
“I was so pleased that the rest of the trustees had the confidence in me to let me continue as chair,” said Fitzgerald, who will serve as chair for a third-straight year.
“They’re a wonderful group of trustees,” she lauded.
“We do work very well together, we have the same vision for the board, so it makes the job as chair just a very pleasant one,” added Fitzgerald, who also praised the administration, director of education, staff, and teachers.
“They’re just all wonderful, have the best interest of the children at heart, and that’s what we work towards—making [the children’s] experience at school a very gratifying and successful one.”
Fitzgerald was first elected as a trustee in 1994 to represent the Fort Frances area.
Sioux Lookout trustee Cathy Bowen, meanwhile, was acclaimed as vice-chair for the coming year.
“I very much enjoy working with Bowen as my vice-chair,” said Fitzgerald. “We have a good sense of teamwork and our goals are the same.
“So it just makes for a great experience working with her.”
Bowen has been a trustee since 2003.
Fitzgerald, who also represents the Northwest region on the Ontario Catholic School Trustees’ Association, said the upcoming year will see a focus on following the board’s five-year strategic plan.