RRFA dinner, election slated tomorrow

The Rainy River Federation of Agriculture will hold its annual election of officers in conjunction with the fall dinner/dance Saturday evening at the Devlin Hall.
“The elections should be pretty simple. There’s only a couple up for re-election and a couple vacancies to fill,” noted RRFA member services rep Betty Salchert.
Among those up for re-election are president Bernie Zimmerman and Zone One (Worthington-Blue) director Rudy Sinninghe.
Among the vacancies to be filled are Zone Four rep (Off Lake Road East), vacated by Kim Jo Bliss, and Zone Two rep (Morley-Dilke), left by Wade Desserre.
Directors with another year remaining in their terms include Ken Fisher of Zone Four, James Teeple and James Gibson of Zone Two (Chapple-Emo), Reg Kaus of Zone One, and Sue Boersma of Zone Two.
Also, RRFA treasurer Angela Halvorsen, secretary Kelly Teeple, and Rural Voice reporter Shirley Teeple will be up for election since they’ve completed their one-year terms.
Salchert will remain member services rep.
Finally, a delegate will be chosen Saturday night to attend the annual Ontario Federation of Agriculture (OFA) convention in November.
Provincial director Keef Meijaar of Thunder Bay was acclaimed back in late August.
Salchert said Saturday night’s dinner/dance also will feature OFA rep Ron Bonnett and Barry Potter, with the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Food, as guest speakers.
Salchert said interest in the fall dinner has been high. “Considering the competition, I think we’ll have a pretty good crowd out for it,” she noted.
The dinner, which is preceded by a social hour at 6 p.m., will be served at 7, followed by a dance at 9 p.m. This part of the evening will feature the bluegrass style of the Rainy Lake Highlanders.
Tickets cost $15 each, which are available from RRFA directors or Salchert (486-3536).