Remembrance Day contest winners announced here

Winners of the Legion’s annual Remembrance Day poetry, prose, and poster contest were rewarded for their efforts Monday at Fort Frances High School.
Bob Cupp, Roly Crawford, and Betty Newman, members of the Legion’s benevolent committee, were on hand to award 21 students from J.W. Walker and Robert Moore elementary schools, and Fort High, for placing in the competition.
In the junior poetry division (grades four-six), Sarah McComb (Robert Moore) took first place while Erica Strom and Taylor Hanness (both of J.W. Walker) came in second and third respectively.
In the junior prose competition, Justin Larson (J.W. Walker) placed first, followed by Jordain Helder (Robert Moore) in second and Jenna Gogosha (Robert Moore) third.
Leah Nowak (Robert Moore) came out on top in the junior poster contest, with Angela Huntley (Robert Moore) taking second and Tyler Doerkson (J.W. Walker) third.
In the intermediate poetry division (grades seven to nine), Justin Sanders (FFHS) took top honours, with Nicole Bodnarchuk (FFHS) in second and April Matheson (FFHS) third.
The intermediate prose category saw Kayle Koval (J.W. Walker) earn first place, followed by Kelly Neilson (FFHS) in second and Jackie Robertson (FFHS) third.
In the senior poetry division (open to high school students), Heather Keeler placed first, with Ria Cuthbertson second and Angela Barron third.
Nicole Wishart took top honours in the senior prose division, followed by Aimee Pelletier second and Erin McIvor third.