‘Quest’ sporting full line-up

After a last-minute entry yesterday afternoon, “Quest for the Best” will see a full line-up of 20 acts hit the stage July 25 under the big tent at the Sorting Gap Marina as part of the Fort Frances Canadian Bass Championship.
Charles Fisher has joined the 14 other soloists and five duets looking to wow the crowd and win the $500 first prize.
“Now that we have our 20 contestants, I think people are really looking forward to the event,” organizer Dawn Booth of the Fort Frances Chamber of Commerce said yesterday.
“I think it’s going to be very successful,” she enthused.
Those anxious to catch the competition can purchase tickets during the BIA’s “Mall Day” on June 28, when Chamber employees will be selling them at a fundraiser barbecue for the town beautification project on the 300 block of Scott Street from 10 a.m.-5 p.m.
Ticket cost is $10, or $12 at the door (if there’s any still available). Contestants can purchase tickets in advance starting Monday.
Besides Fisher, who will perform “Outside” by Staind, this year’s lineup of soloists is as follows:
•Katie Steele–“You Gotta Be” (Des’ Ree);
•Jon Bone–“Alone” (Blues Traveler);
•Misty Christian–“I Love Rock N’ Roll” (Joan Jett);
•Jason Godin–“The Unforgiven” (Metallica);
•Branda Avis–“More for Me” (Tegan and Sara);
•Pat Kowalchuk–“Privileges”;
•Alyson Booth–“Purple Rain” (Leann Rimes);
•Cara Coran–“Big Deal” (Leann Rimes);
•Lindsay Hamilton–“I Know” (Save Ferris);
•Heather Mihichuk–“Irresistable” (Jessica Simpson);
•Ian Martin (an acoustic original);
•Milissa Klemmensen–“Free” (Ginny Owens);
•Jodie Allan–“Who I Am” (Jessica Andrews); and
•Susie Grynol–“I Hope You Dance” (Leanne Womack).
The duets consist of:
•Sandra Rutton and Julie Campagna–“Can’t Fight the Moonlight” (Leann Rimes);
•Leona and Marie Grandboy–“Raining on Our Love” (Shania Twain);
•R.J. Noga and Blair Whitefish–“Crazy Train” (Ozzy Osbourne);
•Brittni Oster and Jessica DeGagne–“I Think We’re Alone Now” (Tiffany); and
•R.J. Comeau and Christina Sletmoen–“Let’s Make Love” (Faith Hill and Tim McGraw).
“Sinking of Pinky” has been lined up as the backup band. Members include Cliff Pidlubny (guitar, vocals), Eric Carpenter (drums, vocals), Dan Jones (guitar, keyboards, vocals), and Ryan Storkson (bass).
“We’ve already started rehearsing. Our lead guitarist is in England so I’ve kept him posted on the Internet to let him know what’s going on,” noted Pidlubny, who along with his former band, “Inside Out,” had been slated to play “Summer Quest” last year before it was cancelled.
“There’s quite a variety [of songs],” he noted. “I’m not going to say it’s going to be easy but we’re up to the challenge.”
The last time “Quest” was held in conjunction with the Fort Frances Canadian Bass Championship (in 1999), it drew about 1,000 spectators.
“Quest” is co-sponsored by the local Chamber and CFOB while prizes are donated by numerous local businesses.