Public trustees to be sworn in


Newly-elected trustees will be sworn in at the Rainy River District School Board’s inaugural meeting tonight at 7 p.m. at the board office here.
Also tonight, trustees also will be electing a chair and vice-chair, as well as a representative to the Ontario Public School Boards’ Association.
Meanwhile, Sturgeon Creek School and the Sturgeon Creek Alternative Program (SCAP) will be saluted tonight after being recognized with the Dr. Bette M. Stephenson Award by the provincial Education Quality and Accountability Office.
As the organization which oversees provincial assessments, the EQAO created the award in recognition of Dr. Stephenson, who served as education minister from 1978-85, and who was a member of the EQAO board at its
This year, the award was presented to 20 elementary school communities that “have made effective use of EQAO data and evidence from other sources to enhance and support student achievement.”
“These schools are at various stages in their journey of learning and continuous improvement,” the EQAO noted. “All are notable for their demonstration of leadership, proactive initiatives, and sincere effort to help every child succeed.
“These are schools that have adopted an action plan based on their unique circumstances and are working toward improved student outcomes,” it added.
The board also will hear two presentations from members of the public—Jackie McCormick and Tara Montague—over its current busing policy.
Other resolutions slated for tonight include:
•that the board approve Bylaw #166 for the approval to issue 2011 education taxes within the board’s jurisdiction, in the unorganized areas as indicated in section 257.7 of the Education Act; and
•that the board approve the temporary financing of the Mine Centre School capital project, up to $4,790,429, to the Royal Bank until permanent financing can be obtained from the Ontario Financing Authority.