Peace poster contest winners named


The local winners have been named in the Fort Frances Lions Club’s annual peace poster contest, who now will be sent on to be judged at the “district” level.
The winners are Reece Philip Jones (Crossroads School), Sabrina Jolicoeur (Robert Moore), Cynthia Morrison (Mine Centre School), Julia Cawston (J.W. Walker), and Sophie Potvin-Begin (St. Francis).
The honourable mentions for each school include: Erika Sheppard, Kiera Kowalski and Taleah Gerhard (Crossroads); Hailey McEvoy, Cole Turcotte, and Brooke McGinnis (Robert Moore); Eric Stewart, Destinee Perreault, and Nicolas Dennis (Mine Centre School); Rachel Ward, Anika Beaudry, and Hannah Johnson (J.W. Walker); and Alyssa Chiasson, Julia Quast, and Maddie Sanders (St. Francis).
The contest, with this year’s theme being “Vision of Peace,” was open to students aged 11-13.
The posters are judged on originality, artistic merit, and expression of the theme.
All submissions had to be original artwork drawn freehand with no computer graphics.
The five winning posters, as well as the runners-up from all the schools, will be on display at the Fort Frances Museum until the end of November.
The poster contest is an international competition, with posters going through four levels of judging: local, district, multiple district, and international.
In related news, an appreciation night for the local winners and their parents will be held Tuesday, Nov. 9 at St. John’s Anglican Church.