Nominees for Chamber awards unveiled

The Fort Frances Chamber of Commerce is gearing up for its 12th-annual business awards with a full slate of nominees.
Chamber manager Dawn Booth said yesterday a surge of names came in by Tuesday morning, translating into 93 nominations for a total of 84 different nominees.
This year’s nominees are as follows:
•Accessibility Award—Community Living Fort Frances & District, Kevin Busch (Fort Frances Curling Club), and La Place Rendez-Vous;
•Business of the Year (1-15 employees)—B93•FM, Bombshell, Cars Plus, Celeste’s Beauty Salon, DJ. Roach Electric, Domino’s Pizza, Emo Feeds, Enterprise Rent-a-Car, Fort Frances Clinic Dispensary, Kathy’s Catering, Mark’s Murky Waters Fish & Chips, and Systems K;
•Business of the Year (16+ employees)—Busch’s Auto Supplies Ltd., Canada Safeway, Ed Kaun & Sons Ltd., Norfab Building Components Ltd., Pinewood Sports & Marine, The Place, and Tompkins Hardware;
•Business Woman of the Year—Cindy Allan (Celeste’s Beauty Salon), Jo Woolsey (Aurora Wind Feeds), Kathy Cuthbertson (Kathy’s Catering), Kelly Spicer (Curves for Women), Linda Moulton (Cheers U Brew), Sherry Kaun (Share Bears), Susan Marshall (Canadian Mental Health Association), Tammy Brown, Rozanne Evans, and Jana Murray (Bombshell), and Tina Selman (Fort Frances Mohawk);
•Customer Service (business)—DJ Roach Electric Ltd., Energy Fitness Centre, Enterprise Rent-a-Car, Fort Frances General Supply, Lakewood Tire, Mark’s Work Wearhouse, Mekong Restaurant, New Life Clinic, Norlund Oil, Northridge Funeral Home, Northwoods Gallery & Gifts, Shopper’s Drug Mart, Shopper’s Home Health Care, Super 8 Motel, Systems K, and Warehouse One;
•Customer Service (individual)—Angela Halvorsen (RRFDC), Barb Murray (Einar’s Foods), Joanne Bliss (RBC Royal Bank), Lillian Gerley (The UPS Store), Lori Pochailo (Howarth’s Home Centre), Neila Booth (Northwoods Gallery & Gifts), and Sharon Bernie (Fort Frances Dental Centre);
•Employee of the Year—Gord Watson (Ed Kaun & Sons Ltd.), Heather Latter (Fort Frances Times), Joe Hendrikx (Northland Basics), Karen Fifield (Canadian Mental Health Association), Neila Booth (Northwoods Gallery & Gifts), and Rebecca Georgeson (Aurora Wind Feeds);
•Entrepreneur of the Year—Brenda Tullio (The Ear Clinic), Dave Ashworth (Domino’s Pizza), Dave Petsnick (Revco Carpet), Don Eldridge (Lee Garden), Jo Woolsey (Aurora Wind Feeds), Kevin Nielson (Shopper’s Drug Mart), Mark Nagant (Mark’s Murky Waters Fish & Chips), Marlene McQuaker (Village Variety), and Tammy Brown, Rozanne Evans, and Jana Murray (Bombshell);
•Safety Award (individual/business)—Dawn Hayes (Alberton Township), Doug Kitowski Trucking, Kayne Shaw (Daryl’s Custom Landscapes), and Wayne George Grading Ltd.;
•Small Business Trainer of the Year—A Buck or Two, DJ Roach Electric Ltd., La Flambée, Revco Carpet Centre Ltd., and Todd French Trucking; and
•Tony Beyak Memorial Volunteer of the Year Award—Bev Kotnik, Emily Watson, Gordon Armstrong, and Kayne Shaw.
(Note: Some of the nominees for the awards were nominated more than once in each category).
The winners will be announced at the Chamber’s annual business awards gala, which is taking place Saturday, Nov. 3 at La Place Rendez-Vous.
Call Booth at 274-5773 for more info.