Nominations slow for top citizen

With the deadline coming up this Friday (Oct. 31), only a handful of nominations for “Citizen of the Year” for 2003 have come in so far.
“I have some so far, maybe a half-dozen or so,” town administrative assistant Loreen Holt said yesterday.
“But in the next couple days, they’ll come in,” she added, noting this rate of return has been the trend in past years.
Last year saw a total of about 20 nominations, though some of those were duplicates.
The forms are available at the information desk at the Civic Centre. About 30 letters requesting nominations also have been sent out to local service clubs and other organizations.
Anyone who has done an outstanding job for the community in any way is eligible for the award. The only stipulation is that the recipient be a resident of Fort Frances and not presently hold elected office.
Completed nomination forms must be returned to the Civic Centre by 4 p.m. on Friday. They can be delivered by hand, mail, e-mail, or fax, noted Holt.
Bill Gushulak (“Citizen of the Year 2000”) and Mark Kowalchuk (“Citizen of the Year 1994”) form the selection committee, along with Mayor Glenn Witherspoon and Coun. Deane Cunningham.
After Friday’s deadline, the committee will choose a time to meet and discussed all the nominations received.
They will make a decision and bring it to council for approval prior to the Nov. 21 town appreciation dinner, where the 2003 “Citizen of the Year” will be formally honoured.
The winner also will ride in the Santa Claus parade (Nov. 22).
Jean and Lin Boileau were named “Citizens of the Year” for 2002.
Other previous recipients include Dede Mallory (1988), Albert McKelvie (1989), Florence and Woody Gray (1990), Jean Scheirer (1991), George Wood (1992), Dr. Audrey Johnstone (1993), Pastor Earl Swanson (1995), Gordon McTaggart (1996), Terry Ogden (1997), Walter Horban (1998), Jim Cumming (1999), and John McTaggart (2001).
For more information, contact Gushulak (274-3891) or Kowalchuk (274-9118).