No nominations received for Citizen of the Year

By Merna Emara
Staff Writer

The Civic Centre in Fort Frances received zero eligible nominations for the Citizen of the Year Award, something Coun. Mike Behan called disappointing.

“I was very saddened to learn earlier today that the town received no eligible nominations for the 34th annual Citizen of the Year award,” Behan said. “This is especially disappointing, considering nominations were open all year, and there also was a new junior citizen category which was added this year.” 

The Outstanding Youth Citizen award was added last year after Ray Calder Jr. Jr. was nominated for helping the community during COVID-19. 

The town began asking for nominations at the beginning of the year, and residents were given the deadline of Oct. 21 to have their nominations sent to deputy clerk Karyn Haney. 

The Citizen of the Year Committee is set to meet on Nov. 18 to discuss going forward. 

Behan said Irene Laing, Linda Hamilton and Coun. Rick Wiedenhoeft also sits on the committee and they will be discussing if this had happened before and what to do if this situation repeats itself in the future. 

The rules for nominating an individual are simple and straightforward. Nominators are usually encouraged to provide a meaningful description of the nominees, and the impact of the contribution. 

Nominees also must be a citizen of the Town of Fort Frances, have contributed to their community, may have performed acts of heroism, may have made life better for others, may have excelled in personal achievements. 

Below is a list of all Citizens of the Year since the award’s creation in 1988:

2020Gaby Hanzuk 
2020Ray Calder Jr. Jr. 
2019Joy Lockman
2018Cynthia Donald
2017Evelyn Metke
2016Ruth Caldwell
2015Larry Patrick
2014Dr. Brian Johnstone
2013Florence Hill & Jane McLeod
2012Ken Christiansen
2011Nick Wihnan
2010Joyce Cunningham
2009Diane Maxey
2008Linda Hamilton
2007Dr. Bob Lidkea
2006June Keddie
2005Patti-Jo Reid
2004Joyce Gosselin
2003John Dutton
2002Jean & Lin Boileau
2001John McTaggart
2000Bill Gushulak
1999Jim Cumming
1998Walter Horban
1997Terry Ogden
1996Gord McTaggart
1995Pastor Earl Swanson
1994Mark Kowalchuk
1993Dr. Audry Johnstone
1992George Wood
1991Jean Scheirer
1990Florence and Woody Gray
1989Albert McKelvie
1988Dede Mallory