Nine nominees submitted for ‘top citizen’

The 2005 “Citizen of the Year” selection committee will have to make some tough choices in the near future as nine nomination forms—most of which are for different people—were turned in to the Civic Centre by Friday’s deadline.
Town administrative assistant Lori Pattison said Monday that the nominations came in at the last minute, with the first couple being turned in on Thursday and the balance submitted Friday prior to 4 p.m.
The selection committee, which includes Bill Gushulak (“Citizen of the Year 2000”), Mark Kowalchuk (“Citizen of the Year 1994”), Mayor Dan Onichuk and Coun. Rick Wiedenhoeft, will be meeting in the next couple of weeks.
It has to make a recommendation to council for approval prior to both the town appreciation dinner on Nov. 18 and the Santa Claus parade on Dec. 2.
Last year, the selection committee had eight nominations to choose from, some of which were duplicates of the same person(s).
The identities of the nominees will not be revealed. Only the winner will be publicly announced.
Anyone who has done an outstanding job for the community in any way is eligible for the award. The only stipulation is that the recipient has to be a resident of the Town of Fort Frances and not presently holding elected office.
Last year’s winner was Joyce Gosselin.
Other previous recipients include Dede Mallory (1988), Albert McKelvie (1989), Florence and Woody Gray (1990), Jean Scheirer (1991), and George Wood (1992).
Rounding out the recipients are Dr. Audrey Johnstone (1993), Pastor Earl Swanson (1995), Gordon McTaggart (1996), Terry Ogden (1997), Walter Horban (1998), Jim Cumming (1999), John McTaggart (2001), Jean and Lin Boileau (2002), and John Dutton (2003).