New council set to start


The new town council will be sworn into office this evening, just as other district officials elected in the Oct. 22 municipal election will be.
Mayor-elect June Caul will join re-elected councillor Wendy Brunetta, as well as newly-elected Michael Behan, Andrew Hallikas, Douglas Judson, John McTaggart, and Rick Wiedenhoeft, during the inaugural meeting, which is scheduled to start at 7:30 p.m. at the Civic Centre.
Joan Mainville will offer a welcome, with Pastor Brian Keffer to conduct the invocation.
The declaration of elected officers will follow.
Caul then will make her inaugural address before announcing the councillor appointees to the various committees and boards.
The public is invited to attend, with refreshments to be on hand.
The first regular meeting of the new council will be held next Monday (Dec. 10).