New council gets sworn-in

FORT FRANCES—Before a crowd of about 50 people, including dignitaries and family, the new council for Fort Frances began its four-year term Monday night after being sworn-in at its inaugural meeting.
New mayor Roy Avis, along with councillors John Albanese, Tannis Drysdale, Andrew Hallikas, Paul Ryan, Sharon Tibbs, and Rick Wiedenhoeft, made their declarations of elected office and oaths of allegiance before Justice Thomas McKay.
Mayor Avis then made his inaugural address, noting the new council, as well as town administration, must work together as a team in order “to move this great community in a direction of stability and great prosperity.”
A motion also was passed to appoint Coun. Drysdale as deputy mayor. A separate motion then was passed to name the mayor and councillors to the numerous town committees and district and regional boards.
The mayor and all six councillors also were appointed to the committee of the whole, with the chairperson to rotate on a six-month basis.
Coun. Tibbs will serve as chair first until March 31, 2007, with Coun. Albanese to be vice-chair. Then, Coun. Albanese will become the chair starting April 1, 2007.
Pastor Stephen Laing of the New Beginnings Fellowship did the invocation.
The OPP Colour Party and Dr. Bruce Lidkea, from the Fort Frances Highlanders, lead the new council, as well as town administration and management, into Council Chambers last night.
Representatives from the OPP, the Fort Frances Fire Department, RCMP, local MP Ken Boshcoff’s office, town auditors BDO Dunwoody, and town solicitor Wesley Derksen also were on hand, not to mention numerous family members and friends of the new mayor and council.
The inaugural meeting, which ran about 40 minutes, was followed by refreshments downstairs at the Civic Centre.
The new council’s first regular meeting will be held next Monday (Dec. 11).
Due to Christmas falling on a Monday, the second regular council meeting of the month will take place Dec. 18.
(Fort Frances Daily Bulletin)