Local history book wins award

“Fort Frances: A Story of a Town and its People,” written by Neil McQuarrie in conjunction with the town’s centennial in 2003, has won an award.
McQuarrie’s work captured the Gertrude H. Dyke Award for best popular, full-length publication, the Thunder Bay Historical Museum Society announced during a reception Sunday at the Thunder Bay Museum.
Other winners included:
•George B. Macgillivray Award (best popular article)—“The Great Map,” by D’Arcy Jenish;
•M. Elizabeth Arthur Award (best full-length academic/scholarly publication)—“Lake Superior to Rainy Lake: Three Centuries of Fur Trade History,” by Jean Morrison; and
•J.P. Bertrand Award (best academic/scholarly article)—“‘Nothing it seems can be done about it,’ Charlie Cox, Indian Affairs Timber Policy and the Long Lac Reserve, 1924-1940,” by Mark Kuhlberg.
A great many excellent books and articles, both popular and scholarly, are written about the history of our region each year, yet so many authors of these works struggle for recognition.
These awards are intended to help publicize such works, to recognize the excellence of local writers, and to encourage new authors to write about our history.
The awards were given out in four categories: for full-length scholarly and popular works and for scholarly and popular articles.
The winners are chosen by independent panels of judges in each category.