Lack of interest axes candidate info session


An information session for candidates in this fall’s municipal election, originally scheduled for next Tuesday at the Civic Centre, has been cancelled due to a lack of interest.
Fort Frances clerk Glenn Treftlin said yesterday that the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing won’t be coming here to host it because only four people from across Rainy River District pre-registered for the event, which was designed for those thinking about running for office to learn more about what the position entails, election finances, and more.
“Unfortunately, the local one is not going to happen,” noted Treftlin noted, though adding anyone who still wants to go can attend the session being held in Atikokan on Monday from 7-9 p.m. at the Atikokan Economic Development Corp. on Main Street.
Atikokan had nine registrants.
Treftlin also said the ministry will be holding similar sessions in Thunder Bay and Kenora, but it will not be setting another date for one here.
In related news, Treftlin said no new people have filed their names at the Civic Centre anytime recently.
Coun. Sharon Tibbs remains the only person who has filed to run for town council. She filed in late March.
Anyone interested in running for mayor, council, or the two school boards should keep in mind they must file their papers with the clerk at the Civic Centre (or their respective municipality) prior to 2 p.m. on Friday, Sept. 10.
Withdrawal of any nominations also must be made by then.
Nominees must pay a $200 fee to run for head of council (mayor) or $100 for any other position (i.e., councillor or trustee).
They also must be a Canadian citizen aged 18 or older, and either be a property owner, someone who leases property, or the spouse of someone who owns/leases property.
Election day will be held Oct. 25—a change from the second Monday in November in past years after reforms to the Municipal Elections Act earlier this year.
Polls will be open from 10 a.m.-8 p.m. on election day. But once again, the town also will be using a vote-by-mail system.
The first day of the new council term will be Dec. 1.
Municipal terms are four years, after being increased from three just prior to the 2006 election.