Gas tax funding for towns unveiled

Press Release

The provincial government is helping 107 municipalities across the province expand or improve their public transit systems with Ontario’s gas tax program.
Multiple municipalities in the Kenora-Rainy River riding, including Fort Frances, will receive funding after Monday’s announcement.
“Public transportation is a vital part of our northern infrastructure,” said local MPP Greg Rickford.
“Just as in other regions of the province, modern public transportation infrastructure is an important part of everyday life for many residents and communities across Kenora-Rainy River,” he noted.
This year, the province is providing $364 million in gas tax funding to 107 municipalities providing public transit service to 144 communities across Ontario.
These communities represent more than 92 percent of Ontario’s total population.
Fort Frances will be receiving $71,727 in funding.
The other municipalities in Kenora-Rainy River receiving funding include Dryden ($26,684), Kenora ($150,290), Machin ($8,684), and Sioux Lookout ($46,344).
Funding for Ontario’s gas tax program is determined by the number of litres of gasoline sold in the province.
The program provides municipalities with two cents per litre of provincial gas tax revenues.
Municipalities receiving gas tax funding must use these funds towards their public transit capital and/or operating expenditures, at their own discretion.
This includes upgrading transit infrastructure, increasing accessibility, purchasing transit vehicles, adding more routes, and extending hours of service.