Emo, La Vallee elect new leaders


The results from yesterday’s municipal election show new leadership for several district municipalities.
In Emo, Vincent Sheppard was elected mayor, garnering 309 votes to defeat incumbent Ed Carlson (222).
Meanwhile, newcomers Robert Simmons (305), Vernon Thompson (304), and Anthony Leek (299) were elected as councillors, along with incumbent Gary Judson (273).
In La Vallee, Ross Donaldson is the new reeve, beating out Ken McKinnon with 177 votes to 127.
He will be joined on council by Dennis Allen (176), Jim Belluz (165), Freeda Carmody (159), and Donald (Darcy) Robson (140).
In Chapple, incumbent Rick Neilson beat Murray Gerula 13 votes to six for the Ward 4 seat.
As previously reported, Reeve Peter Van Heyst was acclaimed.
Newcomer Ken Wilson also was acclaimed as councillor for Ward 1, replacing Mark Hyatt, while Rilla Race and James Gibson were acclaimed for councillors in Ward 2 and 3, respectively.
Dawson Township saw Eltjo Wiersema acclaimed as its new reeve but needed an election for council, in which newcomer Brenda Jodoin (143) will join incumbents Aime Desaulniers (116), Bennett Drennan (114), and Archie Wiersema (102).
In Lake of the Woods Township, Val Pizey was re-elected mayor with 254 votes, defeating opponent Gerald Fisk (111).
Incumbent councillor Colleen Fadden (203) will be joined by newcomers Glenn Anderson (184) and Bill Lundgren (181).
The fourth seat ended in a tie between incumbents Nancy Gate and JoAnn Moen, forcing a recount later this week.
In Rainy River, Debbie Ewald was acclaimed for another term as mayor.
She will be joined on council by newcomers Larry Armstrong (171) and Ashley Stamler (153), along with incumbents Brent Anderson (143) and Gordon Armstrong (128).
To the east, Dennis Brown (867) will return for another term as mayor of Atikokan, handily defeating challenger Robert Davidson (215).
He will be joined on council by Gerald Duhamel (841), Gilbert (Bud) Dickson (744), Robert (Bob) Gosselin (741), Mary Makarenko (728), Marjorie (Marj) Lambkin (718), and Marlene Davidson (638 votes).
Here in Fort Frances, the entire council was acclaimed for another four-year term, including Mayor Roy Avis and Couns. John Albanese, Andrew Hallikas, Ken Perry, Paul Ryan, Sharon Tibbs, and Rick Wiedenhoeft.
Alberton council also was acclaimed. Mike Hammond returns as reeve, along with Couns. Barb Cournoyer, Mike Ford, Doug Mitchell, and Peter Spuzak.
In Morley Township, all councillors were acclaimed, including incumbents George Heyens, Maury Nielson, and Bill Romyn, as well as Moe Henry.
But since no one filed to run for reeve, the new council will determine who the head of council will be in December.
Elsewhere in the region, Keith Hobbs was elected the new mayor of Thunder Bay after topping incumbent Lynn Peterson.
Dave Canfield, who lost in the 2006 election, is back as mayor of Kenora after beating out former city councillor Andrew Poirier and Jim Parsons.
Finally, former councillor Craig Nuttall is the new mayor of Dryden, unseating Anne Krassilowsky, while Dennis Leney, also a former councillor, won the mayor’s chair in Sioux Lookout after defeating contenders Doug Lawrence and Sue Williams.