District volunteers presented awards


Eleven district residents were recognized at the 2018 Volunteer Service Awards held Thursday evening at La Place Rendez-Vous.
The Kiwanis Club of Fort Frances was well-represented this year, with five members being recognized.
They included Dr. Robert Lidkea who has been a dedicated Kiwanian for a whopping 65 years.
Others included Carla Basaraba (five years), June Caul (five years), Ryan MacDonald (five years), and Karla Auliffe-Stamarski (five years).
Meanwhile, Fort Frances High School Medical First Responders Anthony Gill-Roisin and Hunter Ottoson received the 2018 Ontario Youth Volunteer Award.
Gary Judson of Emo received a Volunteer Service Award for 30 years of community volunteerism.
He had been nominated by the Township of Chapple.
As well, Diana Beaudry, Garry Girard, and Alex Broski of the Atikokan Lions Club were recognized for 25, 30, and 60 years of commitment to that organization.
Kiwanian Diane Maxey was the guest speaker at the event, which was hosted by Ontario Honours and Awards secretariat for the Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration.