Commission proposing two new ridings


The five-member Far North Electoral Boundaries Commission has made a preliminary recommendation to create two new electoral districts in Ontario.
The four proposed electoral districts are:
•Kenora-Rainy River, which would include Dryden, Fort Frances, Kenora, and Rainy River;
•Kiiwetinong, which would include the northern portion of the current Kenora-Rainy River electoral district and Marten Falls;
•Mushkegowuk, which would include the northern portion of the current Timmins-James Bay electoral district and Weenusk (Peawanuck) First Nation; and
•Timmins, which would be made up of the City of Timmins itself.
“To make its preliminary recommendation, the Far North Electoral Boundaries Commission visited urban and remote communities throughout Ontario’s two most northern electoral districts,” noted commission chair Justice Joyce L. Pelletier.
“The preliminary recommendation is being made based on what we heard from those communities and the criteria set out for the commission,” she noted.
The commission yesterday began a second round of consultations to receive feedback on its preliminary recommendations.
Dates are available on the commission’s website.
Public information meetings for the second round of consultations are being held in four communities: Timmins, Kenora, Grassy Narrows First Nation, and Hearst.
Written submissions can be sent to the commission at until July 14.
The commission must submit a report with its final recommendations to the Attorney General by Aug. 1.
The government must introduce legislation to implement the commission’s final recommendations before Oct. 30.
The Representation Act, 2015 was amended in December to establish a five-member Far North Electoral Boundaries Commission.
Its mandate is to review the electoral district boundaries of Kenora-Rainy River and Timmins-James Bay, and make recommendations about the creation of one or two more electoral districts in the geographic area, along the names for the new electoral districts.