‘Citizen of the Year’ to be named tonight

While they won’t be officially honoured until the town’s annual appreciation dinner on Nov. 19, the 2004 “Citizen of the Year” will be revealed at tonight’s regular council meeting.
The 2004 “Citizen of the Year” selection committee—consisting of Bill Gushulak (“Citizen of the Year 2000”), Mark Kowalchuk (“Citizen of the Year 1994”), Mayor Dan Onichuk and Coun. Rick Wiedenhoeft—met last week to look over and pick one individual from eight nomination forms—most of which were for different people—which were turned in at the Civic Centre by the Oct. 29 deadline.
Their choice will be presented to the committee of the whole for approval this evening, and announced during the council meeting. The individual chosen will be honoured at the town appreciation dinner on Friday, Nov. 19 at la Place Rendez-Vous, and be featured in the Santa Claus parade on Saturday, Nov. 27.
Last year, the selection committee had 16 nominations to choose from, some of which were duplicates of the same person(s).
Anyone who has done an outstanding job for the community in any way is eligible for the award. The only stipulation is that the recipient has to be a resident of the Town of Fort Frances and not presently holding elected office.
Last year’s winner was John Dutton.
Other previous recipients include Dede Mallory (1988), Albert McKelvie (1989), Florence and Woody Gray (1990), Jean Scheirer (1991), and George Wood (1992).
Rounding out the recipients are Dr. Audrey Johnstone (1993), Pastor Earl Swanson (1995), Gordon McTaggart (1996), Terry Ogden (1997), Walter Horban (1998), Jim Cumming (1999), John McTaggart (2001), and Jean and Lin Boileau (2002).
As in previous years, the identities of the nominees will not be revealed. Only the winner will be publicly announced.
Other business at tonight’s council meeting, which starts at 6:20 p.m., with the committee of the whole meeting beforehand at 5:30 p.m., will include:
•a financial request from, and an invitation to participate in, a community summit scheduled to take place Jan. 13, 2005. The day-long event will focus on issues, such as business, education, tourism, and health, that will impact the Fort Frances area in the next five years;
•a request for financial support from the Fort Frances High School Cheerleaders;
•a financial request from the Royal Canadian Legion;
•a break open ticket licence application from the Friends of Little League at Sparky’s Confectionery from Nov. 9, 2004-June 30, 2005;
•a request from the Royal Canadian Legion to proclaim Nov. 5-11, 2004 as “Poppy Week” in the Town of Fort Frances;
•an application for a zoning bylaw amendment for the Church of the Holy Spirit (824 Victoria Ave.);
•a funding request from “Communities in Bloom” committee regarding the 2005 “Communities in Bloom” competition;
•an invitation from Pitch-In Canada to become a member municipality;
•a financial request from the Business Improvement Association regarding the annual Santa Claus parade (Nov. 27);
•a bylaw to approve an agreement with Asselin Transportation and Storage Ltd. for the collection of garbage and recyclables;
•a request from the Township of Atikokan regarding the provisions of a qualified water distribution operator to Atikokan on an interim basis; and
•a bylaw to approve a letter of agreement with the Ministry of Transportation with respect to funding of public transportation.