Champagne new chair of Riverside board

Percy Champagne, former vice-chair of the board of directors for Riverside Health Care Facilities Inc., will be chair for the next year.
Craig Sanders stepped down from the position, as per the bylaw limiting a term as chair to three years.
“It’s been a good three years,” Sanders said yesterday.
The board held its annual general meeting last Thursday at La Verendrye Hospital here.
“The only disappointment is we hadn’t quite nailed down the funding for the Phase IV renovations at La Verendrye,” Sanders added. “I would have liked to have seen that, but sometimes the wheels of the government turn slower than we’d like.
“But the board worked well together and we got a lot done in just three years.”
Sanders will stay on with the board for another three-year term.
“Our main goal will be the completion of the Phase IV renovations at La Verendrye. That’s progressing,” Champagne said yesterday.
“And of course, we always have to ensure we maintain the harmony within the district—finding a balance between the three hospital boards,” he added.
Champagne’s spot as vice-chair, in turn, has been filled by Emily Watson.
A new addition to the board at Thursday’s meeting was Christine Ruppenstein, replacing Linda Hamilton, who decided to leave the board of directors after two consecutive three-year terms.
The rest of the board includes Noreen Robertson, Dr. Barry Anderson, Dr. Ingrid Krampetz, Robin Wright, Doug Hodge, Brigitta McGreevy, Wendy Judson, Ted Kaemingh, Pat Giles, Dr. Robert Algie (chief of staff), Julian Brunetta, Emily Watson, Cecil Ogden, Jim Leonard, and CEO Wayne Woods.
Other business at the annual meeting included the year-end audit by Jock Spence of BDO Dunwoody, reports from the Riverside Foundation for Health Care, Dr. Algie, Woods, and the three hospital auxiliaries.