Chamber to hold election

For the first time in years, it looks like the Fort Frances Chamber of Commerce will have to hold an election to determine its board of directors for 2006.
The decision came after its general membership meeting yesterday at La Place Rendez-Vous, at which time it became clear more new people had come forward to be directors than there were vacancies on the board.
“I’ll be sending out ballots to all our membership in the next few days,” Chamber manager Dawn Booth said yesterday. “They’ll have until Dec. 9 to respond.
She added the Chamber has run into this situation before, but then people who had their names up came and took their names out of the running, making no election necessary.
“That still might happen and we might not have to an election. But right now, this is where we stand,” noted Booth.
Those in the running for director seats include newcomers Mike Cameron (Confederation College), Maghan Haene (BDO Dunwoody), Randy Thoms (Shaw Cable), Paul Wierzbicki (Enterprise Rent-A-Car), and Jeff Wright (Wright Physiotherapy).
Directors who have expressed an interest in staying on the board for another term include Bev Kotnik (Good Impressions Printing), Linda Larocque (Kitchen Creek Golf Club), Gus MacDonell (IQON Financial), Kelly Spicer (Curves for Women), and Karri Tougas (Northland Basics).
Cathy Emes (Edward Jones), who most recently served as second vice-president on the Chamber executive, also has expressed interest in being on the board.
Earlier this month, three directors stated they were stepping down—Ala Dulas (B•93 FM), Debbie Williamson (Fort Frances Clinic Dispensary), and Jon Evans (BDO Dunwoody).
Meanwhile, the executive for the coming year includes president Gary Rogozinski (Abitibi-Consolidated), first vice-president Christine Denby (Gillons’ Insurance Brokers), second vice-president Brian Kahler (Brown Cow Promotions), treasurer Crystal Godbout (Rainy River Future Development Corp.), and past president Alan Tibbetts (H&R Block).
This is the same executive as last year, with the exception of Kahler, who replaced Emes. Kahler was on the board of directors before joining the executive.