Chamber to hold election


After having 15 people step forward to fill 13 seats on its board of directors, the Fort Frances Chamber of Commerce will be holding an election by e-mail.
Chamber manager Anthony Mason said yesterday afternoon that Chamber members can expect an e-mail in the next day or so requesting they vote for who they’d like to see on the board.
The nominees include Tara Albanese (Skills & Employment Source), Mark Caron (M.L. Caron Electric), Barb Cournoyer (TD Canada Trust), Tyler Cousineau (Gillons’ Insurance Brokers), Cathy Emes (Emes Financial), Jill Flamand, Krista Gushulak (CIBC), and Lillian Gerley (UPS Store).
Rouding out the slate are Kevin Langford (Canada Safeway), John McEvoy (Bell), Leo Melanson (B93•FM), Jennifer Morrison (Enterprise Rent-a-Car), Robin Payeur (Causeway General Insurance), Dave Petsnick (Revco Carpet), and Lisa Plourde (RBC Royal Bank).
All votes must be in by Dec. 10.
Yesterday’s annual general membership meeting included a president’s message, approval of minutes, and treasurer’s report.
The guest speaker was John Harrison, manager of the AbitibiBowater mill here.