Chamber calls off election

The Fort Frances Chamber of Commerce no longer needs to hold an election for its board of directors for 2002 because Tannis Drysdale, past president of the Chamber and current president of the Northwestern Ontario Associated Chambers of Commerce, withdrew.
That means the other nominees in the running will be acclaimed as the nine directors.
“I think an election would be a healthy thing for the Chamber,” Drysdale said Thursday morning, but added she’s too busy with NOACC to serve on the local board.
“I think it’s great we’ve got a good group serving as board of directors and I look forward to working with them through NOACC,” she added.
The Chamber’s board of directors for 2002 will be Darren Brown, Jim Brown, Christine Denby, Bud Edwards, Tammy Hayward, Larry Syrovy, Daniel Thurber, Debbie Williamson, and Tammi Shoemaker.
As first reported in Wednesday’s Times, Roberta Oliver was chosen president for 2002, with Brian Hagarty as first vice-president, Alan Tibbetts as second vice-president, and Kelly Spicer as treasurer.
Marla Thomson will sit on the executive as past president.