Chamber board has vacancy

The Fort Frances Chamber of Commerce is looking to fill a vacancy on its board of directors after two members stepped down in the past month.
“Dave Ashworth stepped down due to time constraints, and then Tannis Drysdale stepped down due to time constraints,” Chamber manager Dawn Booth noted Wednesday.
“Tannis was on the board for over a decade. She was president for two terms, I believe,” Booth added. “She definitely was an asset to the Chamber of Commerce.
Booth noted there’s currently only one vacancy on the board, however, as Ala Dulas, station manager at B•93 FM here, previously an alternate on the board, stepped in to take one of the two spots.
Booth said the responsibilities of a director are:
•to help formulate and review various policies, proposed actions, programs, and projects so that the best interest of the Chamber and community can be accomplished through concerted action;
•to provide the personal leadership, enthusiasm, and support necessary to help co-ordinate and build an effective organization geared to solving community problems; and
•to evaluate and act on issues which come, or should come, before the board of directors.
You do not need to be a business owner to sit on the board, but your affiliated business must belong to the Chamber, Booth noted.
She added anyone interested in the position may want to attend the board’s next luncheon slated for Tuesday, March 22 at 11:45 a.m. at La Place Rendez-Vous to get a feel for who the Chamber is and what it’s about.
While the luncheon, which will feature guest speaker Jim Cumming, is not a regular Chamber meeting, as such, some business will be done during it, Booth said.
For more information on being a Chamber director, call Booth at 274-5773.
The current board also consists of Jon Evans (BDO Dunwoody), Kelly Spicer (Robin’s Donuts), Barb Cournoyer (TD Bank), Karri Tougas (Northland Basics), Gus MacDonnell (IQON Financial), Brian Kahler (Brown Cow Productions), and Debbie Williamson (Clinic Pharmasave).
Board appointees include Mayor Dan Onichuk (Town of Fort Frances), Larry Syrovy (Business Improvement Association), and Christine Jourdain (Couchiching First Nation).
Jane Gillon (Ministry of Northern Development and Mines) is an ex-officio member.
The executive consists of president Gary Rogozinski (Abitibi-Consolidated), first vice-president Christine Denby (Gillons’ Insurance Brokers), second vice-president Cathy Emes (Envision North), and treasurer Crystal Godbout (Rainy River Future Development Corp.).
Alan Tibbetts (H&R Block) is the past president.