Chamber board has three vacancies

The Fort Frances Chamber of Commerce is looking to fill vacancies on its board of directors after three members have stated they are stepping down.
They include Ala Dulas, station manager at B•93 FM, Debbie Williamson from the Fort Frances Clinic Dispensary, and Jon Evans from BDO Dunwoody, Chamber manager Dawn Booth noted yesterday.
She noted Maghan Haene from BDO Dunwoody has shown interest in one of the positions, but two more people are needed.
“Because all directors’ terms are for one year, everyone has to be re-elected in November,” said Booth, adding anyone interested in a seat on the board will want to attend its general membership meeting slated for Tuesday, Nov. 22 at 11:30 a.m. at La Place Rendez-Vous.
There, board appointments will be made or, if there are more than three people vying for the vacant seats, there will be an election.
“We’ve never actually had to do an election since I’ve been here. There’s always been just enough people,” noted Booth. “So it would be interesting if we had to do one.”
She added the rest of the board and executive currently is expected to remain the same, with president Gary Rogozinski already expressing an interest in staying in that role for another term.
Booth said the responsibilities of a director are:
•to help formulate and review various policies, proposed actions, programs, and projects so that the best interest of the Chamber and community can be accomplished through concerted action;
•to provide the personal leadership, enthusiasm, and support necessary to help co-ordinate and build an effective organization geared to solving community problems; and
•to evaluate and act on issues which come, or should come, before the board of directors.
You do not need to be a business owner to sit on the board, but your affiliated business must belong to the Chamber, Booth noted.
For more information on being a Chamber director, call Booth at 274-5773.
Aside from Dulas, Evans, and Williamson, the current board of directors consists of Brian Kahler (Brown Cow Productions), Bev Kotnik (Good Impressions Printing), Linda Larocque (Maurice Fillion and Company), Gus MacDonell (IQON Financial), Kelly Spicer (Robin’s Donuts), and Karri Tougas (Northland Basics).
Barb Cournoyer (TD Bank) is an alternate.
Board appointees include Mayor Dan Onichuk (Town of Fort Frances) and Patti Anderson (Business Improvement Association). Jane Gillon (Ministry of Northern Development and Mines) is an ex-officio member.
The executive consists of Rogozinski (Abitibi-Consolidated), first vice-president Christine Denby (Gillons’ Insurance Brokers), second vice-president Cathy Emes (Envision North), treasurer Crystal Godbout (Rainy River Future Development Corp.), and past president Alan Tibbetts (H&R Block).