Caul elected mayor by wide margin


June Caul made history last night after being elected as the first female mayor of Fort Frances.
Caul, who is wrapping up her first term as a town councillor, soundly defeated fellow councillor Ken Perry by a vote of 1,808-881.
Incumbent Wendy Brunetta was re-elected to council with 2,155 votes.
She will be joined by John McTaggart (1,986), Michael Behan (1,701), Doug Judson (1,655), Andrew Hallikas (1,617), and Rick Wiedenhoeft (1,562).
Harold Huntley came in seventh place with 1,228 votes while Clinton Gray garnered 1,085 votes.
The new mayor and council will be sworn in on Monday, Dec. 3.
Voter turnout for Fort Frances was at 51.3 percent when polls closed at 8 p.m. yesterday.
A total of 2,712 people out of the 5,286 eligible voters cast their ballots by internet or telephone between Oct. 15 and 22.
In the district, Mike Ford narrowly defeated incumbent Mike Hammond by a vote of 176-172 to be the next reeve of Alberton Township.
This final total was determined after a recount.
Dan DeGagne, Diane Glowasky, Jennifer Johnson, and Peter Spuzak were acclaimed as councillors in Alberton.
Ken McKinnon was re-elected reeve of La Vallee with 124 votes, beating out Ross Donaldson (89), Lucille MacDonald (83), and Ken Hyatt (45).
Glen Aveyard, Jim Belluz, Elaine Hughes, and Daniel Rea were acclaimed as councillors in La Vallee.
In Emo, Harold McQuaker was elected mayor with 340 votes, handily defeating Michael Loney (137) and Vincent Sheppard (123).
Meanwhile, Harrold Boven (475 votes), Warren Toles (414), Lincoln Dunn (385), and Lori-Ann Shortreed (329) earned the four Emo council seats.
Carmon (Dusty) Sheppard garnered 295 votes while Brendan Loney got 271.
In the Township of Chapple, Rilla Race was elected reeve. She garnered 86 votes to beat out Gary Judson (66), Robert Barron (39), and Stefan Szeder (10).
James Gibson, Rick Neilson, Philip Schram, and Ken Wilson were acclaimed as councillors there.
In the Town of Rainy River, Martin Kreger was elected as a councillor with 212 votes, along with Neil Ivall (181), Brent R. Hegelson (179), Pat White (154), Larry Armstrong (129), and Andrew Hartnell (127).
Also running were Gerry Pasloski (87 votes), Susan Carpenter (85), Paul Caruso (65), and Gord Prost (57).
Incumbent Deb Ewald was acclaimed as mayor.
In Sioux Narrows-Nestor Falls, Mathew Rydberg was elected Ward 1 councillor, beating Suzanne Bouvier 154-143, while Philip Hudson was elected Ward 2 councillor, garnering 68 votes to Wayne Helliar’s 61.
Norbert Dufresne was acclaimed as mayor.
In the school board election, incumbents David Kircher (1,275) and Raymond Roy (996) were re-elected as Fort Frances trustees on the Rainy River District School Board.
The other candidates were Rudolf Zeitlhofer (613), Stephanie Berger (511), Michael Graham (289), and Peter Howie (287).
In Atikokan, Jeff Lehman secured a seat as school board trustee.
Kathryn Pierroz was elected as trustee for La Vallee and Alberton.
John Fuhrer secured a seat as trustee for Emo-Chapple-Sioux Narrows-Nestor Falls while David Loewen was acclaimed for the Dawson, Lake of the Woods, Morley, Rainy River seat.
There was no Fort Frances election for the Northwest Catholic District School Board as candidates Donald Marquis and Cathy Piotrowski were acclaimed.