Catholic board salutes excellence

Press Release

The Northwest Catholic District School Board hosted a Staff Recognition Night on Sept. 17 to celebrate excellence in Catholic education.
Each year the board celebrates its staff by acknowledging five-35 years of service, retirees, and distinguished Catholic Leadership Awards.
The event was held at the Riverview Lodge in Dryden, with trustees Cathy Bowen and John Borst performing the duties of ceremony presenters.
“Staff are truly committed to making a difference in the lives of the students in our Catholic schools, and it is important to recognize their talents,” said board chair Anne-Marie Fitzgerald.
Trustees and administration extended their sincere congratulations to those employees who retired in the spring, including:
•Lila Bujold and Gail Gouliquer (St. Patrick’s in Atikokan);
•Patricia MacKenzie and Geraldine Powell (St. Joseph’s in Dryden);
•Darcy LeGros (Sacred Heart in Sioux Lookout); and
•Randy Kirk (St. Francis) and Janice Cousineau (Fort Frances board office).
The board also honoured outstanding Catholic leadership, with this year the award winners from CUPE were Wayne Carter, Terry Wilson, Yvonne Langlais, Sandy and Gabe Botelho, and Kathy Warren.
The distinguished Catholic teachers were Gene Palko, Jean Bujold, and Stacy Montgomery.
The distinguished principal was Guy Durand from St. Patrick’s in Atikokan while Janice Cousineau was distinguished for her service to the trustees and board office.