‘Aiming for the Top’ rewards district students

The provincial government proved to 14 district high school students that good marks do pay off.
In a letter dated Sept. 10 and revealed at last night’s regular monthly meeting of the Rainy River District School Board, the government announced the students would be receiving “Aiming for the Top” scholarships.
Recipients at Fort Frances High School included Marc Foley, Christian Gagnon, Emily Gibb, Michelle Murray, Nicole Murray, Gary Wager, Jonathan Stinson, Graham Gaylord, Amy Gill, and Kerri Frenette Langtry.
Rainy River High School student Dean Gibbins also received a scholarship, as did Pam Bujold, Darren Braun, and Mindy Williams of Atikokan High School.
“Aiming for the Top” is a provincial program that rewards students who graduate with top marks at their high school and who plan to continue their studies at an Ontario college or university.
Students who maintain an 80 percent average at the post-secondary level can receive these scholarships, which are worth up to a maximum of $3,500 per year–for up to four years in total.
This year, the province invested more than $17 million in “Aiming for the Top” scholarships issued to about 8,0000 students across Ontario.
When the program is fully implemented in 2003, the annual investment will be $35 million and more than 15,000 students will benefit each year.