Fort High honours top Muskies


Another great year of Muskie sports has officially come to a close and it was time to dish out some hardware.
Fort High recognized the contributions of its athletes over the past year at its annual awards banquet last Wednesday night at the Townshend Theatre.
And the winners were:
•Golf MVP–Mikel Ward
•Cross Country MVP–Greta Fedoruk
•Jr. boys’ volleyball MVP–Peyton Avis
•Sr. boys’ volleyball MVP (Horban Award)–Ben Smith
•Jr. girls’ basketball outstanding contribution–Aurora Hutton
•Jr. girls’ basketball MVP–Keisha DeBungie
•Sr. girls basketball MVP (Patti-Jo Reid Award)–Ellie Petsnick/Grace Petsnick
•Jr. boys’ basketball MVP and outstanding contribution (Tim Callaghan Memorial Trophy)–Brett Schram
•Sr. boys’ basketball MVP–Kobi Ward
•Jr. girls volleyball ‘B’-team outstanding contribution–Janelle Allan
•Jr. girls’ volleyball MVP (Horban Award)–Aurora Hutton/Rebecca Jourdain/Grace Kowal
•Sr. girls’ volleyball MVP (Patti-Jo Reid Award)–Pasquel Shortreed
•Sr. girls’ volleyball PHD Award (Persistence, Hustle, Determination)–Alina Eldridge
•Figure skating MVP and outstanding contribution–Montana Plasky/Hallee Nugent
•Northwest Taekwondo Most Valuable Contribution of a FFHS Student–Nate Bruyere
•Girls’ curling MVP–Ashley Payne
•Mixed curling MVP–Jesse Thompson
•Boys’ curling MVP–Owen Riches
•Curling outstanding contribution–Andrea Schram
•Nordic skiing outstanding contribution–Tori Toriseva/Emma Toriseva
•Jr. badminton MVP–Brett Schram/Jake MacKinnon
•Sr. badminton MVP–Tayah Badiuk/Lauryn Marchant
Boys’ hockey
•Honesty, dedication, positive attitude, perseverance, work ethic, desire to excel (Danny Johnson Memorial Trophy)–Brady Bodnarchuk
•Outstanding contribution (Bert Egan Memorial Award)–Mikel Ward
•Sportsmanship (Rod Cain Memorial Trophy)– Cole Magill
•Unsung hero (Randy Roach Memorial Trophy)–Jace Jackson
•Most gentlemanly player (Al Freeman Memorial Trophy)–Austin Armstrong
•Rookie of the Year–Peyton Avis
•MVP (Barney Maher Award)–Jake Barker
Girls’ hockey
•Most Improved Player–Katrina Koomans
•Most Sportsmanlike Player–Martina Woods
•Most Dedicated Player–Kathryn Fischer
•Rookie of the Year–Issy Taylor
•Coaches Award–Emily Kaun
•Scott Clendenning Award–Alex Gartzke
•MVP–Jill Calder
•Rookie of the Year–Jacob Argue/Brady Bodnarchuk
•Defensive MVP (Reece Scofield Memorial Award)–Colton Allen
•Lineman of the Year–Aaron Scheibler
•Special Teams Player of the Year–Carson Noga
•Outstanding contribution (Marc DeGagne Memorial Award)– Jaykob Ryll
•Overall MVP (Paul Renaud Award)– Riley Argue
Track and field
•Female Most Improved–Ayiana Gagne
•Male Most Improved–Owen Riches
•Female MVP–Grace Petsnick
•Male MVP–Sean Huziak
•Girls’ soccer outstanding contribution–Pasquel Shortreed
•Girls’ soccer MVP–Alina Eldridge
•Boys’ soccer outstanding contribution–Austin Armstrong
•Boys’ soccer MVP–Nick Hahkala
Individual Awards
•Grade 12 Female for Academic and Athletic Achievement (William George Reid Memorial Cup)–Janissa Judson
•Grade 12 Male for Academic and Athletic Achievement (Douglas Morrow Memorial Award)–Austin Armstrong
•Athletic Certificate Awards (eight sports played in high school career)–Pasquel Shortreed, Andrea Schram, Janissa Judson, Austin Armstrong, and Alina Eldridge
•Letterman Awards (10 or more sports played in high school career)–Andrea Schram, Janissa Judson, Austin Armstrong, and Alina Eldridge
•Sportsmanship and Perseverance (Brent Ogden Memorial Trophy)–Andrea Schram
•Gordon Ash Heart and Soul Award–Alina Eldridge and Pasquel Shortreed
•Female Rookie of the Year–Tatum Glowasky
•Male Rookie of the Year–Brandon Croswell
•Female Athlete of the Year–Grace Petsnick
•Male Athlete of the Year–Austin Armstrong