EDBMHA hands out awards


The Emo-Devlin-Barwick Minor Hockey Association honoured the cream of this year’s crop at its annual awards banquet on Saturday night at the Emo Arena.
Isabella Foster received the Tony Bliss Appreciation Award for most improved player on the Emo Express Novice girls while Bennett McQuaker took home the honour on the Emo Express White, as did Aksel Hanson for the Express Green.
Kali McCormick claimed the Doug Wilson Memorial Award for dedication and sportsmanship for the Emo Express Atom girls while Ethan Hanson was the recipient for the Emo Express.
Tia Wagar was named the Robert Steele Memorial Award winner for most versatile player for the Emo Express PeeWee girls, while Austin Mosbeck was the recipient for the Emo Express White and Callum McCormick took home the honour for the Express Green.
Awards also were handed out to the most improved, most dedicated, and most sportsmanlike player in each division:
•Novice girls–Mayelle Grennier (most improved), Mya Lepage (most dedicated), and Reece Wiersma (most sportsmanlike);
•Novice White–Nathan Dalseg (most improved), Rylan Sabbe (most dedicated), and Easton Brown (most sportsmanlike);
•Novice Green–Nicholas Green (most improved), Layne McCormick (most dedicated), and Reed Booth (most sportsmanlike);
•Atom–Sean Brubacher (most improved), Connor Chawstyk (most dedicated), and Parker Wiersma (most sportsmanlike);
•Atom girls–Laila Degrechie (most imprived), Aelise Lucas Engberg (most dedicated), and Emily Jerry (most sportsmanlike);
•PeeWee girls–Aynsley Teeple (most improved), Danielle Schram (most dedicated), and Addison Brown (most sportsmanlike);
•PeeWee White–Ben Teeple (most improved), Kalin Grennier (most dedicated), and Cohen Johnson (most sportsmanlike);
•PeeWee Green–Zander Degrechie (most improved), Parker Booth (most dedicated), and Karon McQuaker (most sportsmanlike).
EDBMHA president Tammy Strachan, who is stepping down from the position, was also surprised with a volunteer-of-the-year award in appreciation of all she has done for the association throughout the years.
“We have such great members on the board and a great group of kids and parents,” Strachan lauded.
“I appreciate all the hard work of the executive members, coaches, convenors, and volunteers, without them we would not have an association.
“It is nice to see a community work together and I hope it continues to grow,” she added.