Town council acclaimed for next term


But races
in district
With the deadline for nominations having come and gone Friday (Sept. 10), several district municipalities will be having an election on Oct. 25 while others won’t.
Here in Fort Frances, the incumbent council has been acclaimed. Returning for another four-year term will be Mayor Roy Avis and Couns. John Albanese, Andrew Hallikas, Ken Perry, Paul Ryan, Sharon Tibbs, and Rick Wiedenhoeft.
As for the local public and separate school boards, there will be an election for both in Fort Frances.
Incumbents Dan Belluz and Terry Higgins, along with newcomer Dave Kircher, are running for the two town seats on the Rainy River District School Board.
Meanwhile, incumbents Paul Cousineau, Anne-Marie Fitzgerald, and Harold Huntley are vying for the two Fort Frances seats on the Northwest Catholic District School Board.
The Catholic board reduced the number of Fort Frances seats from three to two earlier this year, explaining why three incumbents are running for two seats.
Alberton council also has been acclaimed for another four-year term. Mike Hammond will return as reeve, along with Couns. Barb Cournoyer, Mike Ford, Doug Mitchell, and Peter Spuzak.
But current public school board trustee Glenda Belluz will face competition as Ralph Hill also filed to run for the seat that represents Alberton, La Vallee, Miscampbell, Dance, Lake Despair, and Griesinger.
In La Vallee, there will be an election to replace Reeve Emily Watson, who chose not to run again.
Ross Donaldson, who sat as a councillor on the past council, filed to run for reeve against former reeve Ken McKinnon.
Meanwhile, incumbent Jim Belluz, Freeda Carmody, and Lucille MacDonald are running for council again, with Dennis Allen, Harold Kellar, Donald (Darcy) Robson, Dale Stamarksi, and Brian Trimble also tossing their hats into the ring.
There will be an election in the Township of Emo, as well, with incumbent mayor Ed Carlson being challenge by Vincent Sheppard.
Incumbents Ken Fisher, Gary Judson, and Harriet Sheloff are seeking re-election on council against challengers Anthony Leek, Geoff Pearce, Robert Simmons, Vernon Thompson, and Daniel Young.
Public school board trustee Margaret Heyens has been acclaimed for another term serving Emo, Kingsford, Fleming, Senn, McLarty, Nestor Falls, Chapple, and some of the unorganized areas north of Chapple.
In Chapple, next month’s election will be somewhat quiet as current reeve Peter Van Heyst was acclaimed for the position.
Newcomer Ken Wilson also was acclaimed as councillor for Ward 1, replacing Mark Hyatt, while Rilla Race and James Gibson have been acclaimed for councillors in Ward 2 and 3, respectively.
Incumbent Rick Neilson will be up against Murray Gerula in Ward 4, however.
Dawson Township saw Eltjo Wiersema acclaimed as its new reeve, but will see five candidates on the ballot to elect four councillors. They include incumbents Linda Armstrong, Aime Desaulniers, Bennett Drennan, and Archie Wiersema, as well as newcomer Brenda Jodoin.
For the second election in a row, no one filed to run for reeve of Morley Township prior to the 2 p.m. deadline on Friday.
Nominations were re-opened today (Sept. 15) from 9 a.m.-2 p.m.
All councillors were acclaimed, including incumbents George Heyens, Maury Nielson, and Bill Romyn, as well as Moe Henry.
In Rainy River, incumbent Debbie Ewald was acclaimed as mayor while a total of eight people put in their names to run for the four seats on council.
Incumbents Brent Anderson, Gordon Armstrong, and Gerry Marchuk will be on the ballot alongside Larry Armstrong, Weston Blight, Susan Carpenter, Ashley Stamler, and Edward Tymkin.
Michele Abraham and Dianne McCormack will vie for a spot on the public school board that serves Morley, Morson, Lake of the Woods, McCrosson & Tovell, Rainy River, Dawson, and the unorganized areas adjacent to Dawson.
Meanwhile, incumbent Mark Chojko-Bolec is being challenged by Roseanne Zimmerman for the seat on the Catholic school board that covers much of the western region of the district.
Finally, Gerald Fisk will run against incumbent Valerie Pizey in the race for reeve in Lake of the Woods Township.
Incumbents Colleen Fadden, Nancy Gate, JoAnn Moen, and Tony Sepers are vying for the four seats on council along with Glenn Anderson, April Chojko-Bolec, Bill Lundgren, Rockford Moen, Hugh O’Hare, and Adrienne Olson
Looking east to Atikokan, there will be an election for both mayor and council Oct. 25.
Incumbent Dennis Brown and challenger Robert Davidson once again will square off for the mayor’s chair.
Meanwhile, nine candidates are in the running for the six seats on council, including Marlene Davidson, Gilbert (Bud) Dickson, Gerald Duhamel, Sherwin Durand, Robert (Bob) Gosselin, Gayle Green, Darrin Hanlon, Marjorie (Marj) Lambkin, and Mary Makarenko.
Mike Lewis will be acclaimed to the public school board while Teresa Larson will be acclaimed to the separate one.
Also acclaimed will be the representatives for the unincorporated areas for the Rainy River District Social Services Administration Board.
Newcomers Harold Mosley and John Callan will be the DSSAB reps for Rainy River District East and Rainy River District Central, respectively, while Wade Desserre will return as the rep for Rainy River District West.