Slack named as superintendent of education

Bryce Forbes

The Rainy River District School Board appointed Casey Slack as superintendent of education at its regular monthly meeting Tuesday night.
Slack has served as Student Success Leader and assistant to the director since 2007.
During his tenure as Student Success Leader, Slack contributed to the development of board improvement plans, prepared board-wide Student Success action plans, and led the development and implementation of innovative “Learning to 18” programming.
“In his most recent role as Student Success Leader, Casey has done an outstanding job of working with schools to develop programs to support at-risk students,” Education Director Heather Campbell said in a press release.
“Casey will be a strong addition to our senior team and a tremendous asset to the students we serve in the Rainy River District School Board,” she added.
Meanwhile, the public board passed its 2010-11 budget Tuesday night.
Superintendent of Business Laura Mill presented the budget, which balanced at $46,814,466 after $649,000 was withdrawn from working fund reserves and another $466,069 from classroom reserves.
The big budgetary challenge this year was the 2.2 percent decrease in enrolment from 2009-10, which reduced the grant money the board receives from the province.
“Although these challenges were present, the approved balanced budget was a collaborative process that remained student-focused and aligned with the strategic plan,” noted Mills.
The two withdrawals from reserve funds, which total $1,115,069, will go to support initiatives like “Later Literacy” education assistants, aboriginal immersion, assistive technology support, secondary curriculum coaches, and a “Student Achievement” coach.
“This budget will further student achievement and close gaps in achievement,” said board chair Dan Belluz.
“At the same time, it responds to financial pressures in the face of declining enrolment and difficult economic conditions,” he added.
Also at Tuesday night’s meeting, which was the last for the 2009-10 school year, the board passed a resolution to name the primary wing of the new Robert Moore School as the F.H. Huffman Wing.
It also agreed to name the library and circle room at the new Robert Moore School “Nibwaakaawin,” which means “wisdom” in Ojibwe.
As well, the board recognized volunteers, school bus drivers, and staff with 25 years of service.
Eleven of the volunteers saluted support Huffman School’s “Read to You” program. The recipients were Helen Brow, Marilyn Brown, Ruth Caldwell, Norm Guenette, Jan Gustafson, Mark Kowalchuk, Roma Madill, Myra Mainville, Shirley Scofield, Krissy Solum, and Garry Wilde.
The “Read to You” program runs every Wednesday, with the volunteers going into the junior and senior kindergarten class and reading to the students for 60 minutes.
The other volunteer award recipient was Angel Low from Sturgeon Creek School, where she is the hot lunch co-ordinator and school council secretary.
Herman Rodrigues, meanwhile, earned the School Bus Driver of the Year award.
He has been a bus driver in Rainy River District for five years.
Among the board staff honoured for 25 years of service were J.W. Walker teacher Dorothy Quibell, North Star Community School teacher Ann Braun, J.W, Walker communication assistant Shelly Manty.
Also honoured were FFHS custodian Leo Muloin, FFHS secretary Carla Galbraith, Rainy River High School secretary Cathy Seguin, and Huffman custodian Lonnie Beaulne.