Rainy River Legion Elects New Executive

By Jack Elliott
Rainy River Correspondent

On Wednesday Jan 31, 2024 The Royal Canadian Legion, Major Hughes Branch #54 elected a new Executive. This was mandated by the Manitoba and Northwestern Ontario Command of The Royal Canadian Legion to ensure the Rainy River Branch was in compliance with the bylaws and constitution of the Royal Canadian Legion. Over 30 members were in attendance at the Legion Club Room. George Chojko-Bolec of Pinewood chaired the election process.

The New executive is:

President: Walter Wagner

Ist Vice President Don Gall

2nd Vice President Murray Gerula

Executive Committee Members:

Nadine Gerula

Mickey Gustafson

Heather Pilcher

Richard Trenchard

Justin Wagner

Per Canadian Legion Regional Command no other business was discussed at this special meeting.

“There will be a general meeting of the Rainy River Legion Branch called for the end of February 2024”, said President Walter Wagner.

Wagner also confirmed that fund raising had retired the Rainy River Branch’s debt to Canada Emergency Business Account (CEBA) Loan as reported in the Jan 31 edition of the Fort Frances Times.