Public school board honours 16 retirees

The Rainy River District School Board marked a first in its history Saturday by bringing together all its staff, including the various unions, for an employee appreciation dinner at the Red Dog Inn.
“With an organization that has such a rich history, it’s important to recognize its members every chance you get,” said Education Director Warren Hoshizaki.
He noted the celebration included elementary and secondary level teachers belonging to the Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario and the Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation as well as EFTO Occasional Teachers and Educational Support Personnel, and CUPE employees.
“It was really well-received and very supportive to see all the groups get together,” noted Hoshizaki, who especially thanked Mickey Christiansen as one of the event’s main organizers.
Among the elementary teachers retiring were Norman Hyatt (Sturgeon Creek), Barbara Cousineau (J.W. Walker), Diane Maxey (Sixth Street), Rick Socholotuk (Sixth Street), and Ralph Brown and Heather Schmutzer (North Star Community School in Atikokan).
At the secondary school level, Norman Guenette (Fort Frances High School), Darya Fedorchuk (FFHS), Don Bailey (Atikokan High School), and Donald Gale (Rainy River High School) were recognized.
Other board employees honoured included assistant superintendent Betty Ann LaRocque, RRHS secretary Tresa Swerbus, AV technician Albert Carrier, Sturgeon Creek custodian Ray Mose, Robert Moore custodian Matt Gushulak, and bus driver Charlie Johnson.
All retirees received an engraved clock as a gift.
Also Saturday, 16 employees were recognize for having served with the board for 25 years, including Susan Drew, Marnie Cumming, Ruby Ellek, Mary Jane Gushulak, Mark Kowalchuk, Dennis Livicker, Frank Maraj, Janis McFee, Derek McFee, Thelma Ogden, Terry Ogden, Joyce Pollard, Brenda Pressenger, Alana Rechlin, Donald Ricci, and Tommy Wong.
An engraved pen was given to these employees.