Official list of confirmed candidates

The campaign has officially begun for the 2022 Municipal and School Board elections. Voting day is October 24. The following is a confirmed list of nominated and acclaimed candidates. HAVE YOUR SAY – as voters, what would you like to know about the candidates? if you have a question you’d like us to take to candidates, let us know. Submit your questions to

Listed by municipality

Town of Atikokan


Rob Ferguson

Robbin Harper


Gord Knowles

Elizabeth Shine

Brian Stimson

Jim Jonson

Alacia Henderson

Corrine Colvin

Janelle Zacharias

Gordon Martin

Kristi-Lynn McQuay

Northwest Catholic District School Board

Andrea Maggrah

Rainy River District School Board Trustee

Nominations re-opened until 2:00 p.m. Aug. 24, 2022

Township of Alberton


Mike Ford

Michael Hammond

Council: All Acclaimed to council

Tyson Dennis

Diane Glowasky

Shawn Spence

Peter Spuzak

Township of Chapple


James Gibson (Acclaimed)


Ken Wilson

Philip Schram

Rick Neilson

Robert Barron

Trish Neilson

Township of Dawson


Douglas Hartnell (Acclaimed)


Timo Breilmann

Lewis Kempf

Bill Langner

Cory Larocque

Brent Sands

Bennett Drennan

Township of Emo


Harold McQuaker (Acclaimed)


Lisa Teeple

Phil Whatley

Russ Fortier

Geoffrey Pearce

Gary Judson- Rejected for cause of not filing financial statements in 2018 election

Gerald Wieringa

Lori-Ann Shortreed

Harrold Boven

Frank Szeder Jr.

Rainy River District School Board Trustee

John Fuhrer (Acclaimed)

Town of Fort Frances


Ken Perry

Andrew Hallikas


Kaleb Firth

Mike Behan

Wendy Brunetta

Mandi Olson

Steven Maki

John McTaggart

David Kircher

Rainy River District School Board Trustee

Michael William Graham (Acclaimed)

Mike Walchuk (Acclaimed)

Northwest Catholic District School Board

Joelle Blanc-Paull (Acclaimed)

Cathy Piotrowski (Acclaimed)

Conseil scolaire public du Grand Nord de l’Ontario (French Public School board)

Anne-Marie Gélineault (Acclaimed

Conseil scolaire de district catholique des Aurores boréales (French Catholic School Board)

Madeleine Oakes (Acclaimed)

Township of LaVallee


Kenneth Hyatt

Emily Watson

Lucille McDonald


Elaine Hughes

Brendan Hyatt

Michael Hyatt

Daniel Rea

James Belluz

Ken Badiuk

Brian Trimble

Stephen Loshaw

Rainy River District School Board Trustee

Kathryn Pierroz (Acclaimed)

Lake of the Woods


Colleen Fadden (Acclaimed)

Council: (All Acclaimed)

Kaitlyn Cottam

Bill Lundrigan

Nancy Gate

April Chjoko-Bolec

Township of Morley


George Heyens

Telford Advent


Paul Brown

Tony Armstrong

Wade Desserre

Maria Vandenbrand

Ashley Morrison

Ray Hackett

Gary Jolicoeur

Zach Sopotiuck

Dave Larocque

Jamie Beal

Andrew McCormick

Town of Rainy River


Deb Ewald (Acclaimed)


Robert Helgeson

Gordon Prost

Florence Newman

Joel Hagarty

Marlene McNally

Martin Kreger

Neil Ivall

Daniel G. Armstrong

Greg Brown

Robert Richard Yuri Ewald

Rainy River District School Board Trustee

Sarah Margaret Creed (Acclaimed)

Northwest Catholic District School Board

David Sharp (Acclaimed)