MNO election set for May 2


Sunset Country Métis Council members will be among those voting for a new Métis Nation of Ontario executive on May 2.
Voting will take place from 9 a.m.-8 p.m. at the Sunset Country Métis office (426 Victoria Ave.)
An advance poll will be held there this Saturday (April 23) from 3-7 p.m.
For those who require transportation, local youth rep Sarah Marusyk is available to drive people to the polling station this Saturday from 4-7 p.m. and on May 2 from 3-8 p.m.
People can arrange a ride by calling her at 276-4481.
Margaret Froh of Barrie and Hank Rowlinson of Sudbury are running for MNO president.
As reported last month, current MNO president Gary Lipinski of Fort Frances is not seeking re-election and is retiring from Métis politics.
Richard Meilleur, France Picotte, and Kevin Muloin are running for MNO chair while Marc Laurin and Sharon McBride are running for MNO vice-chair.
Maurice Sarrazin, Lawrence (Larry) O’Connor, Tim Pile, and Heidi Kimberley are running for MNO secretary-treasurer.
Meanwhile, there is no election for the Region 1 councillor (Fort Frances, Dryden, Kenora, and Atikokan) on the Provisional Council of the Métis Nation of Ontario.
Incumbent Theresa Stenlund of Kenora was acclaimed.
Visit for updates.