Incumbent reeves re-elected in district

FORT FRANCES—Residents in the townships of Alberton, La Vallee, and Emo re-elected their incumbent reeves on Monday, according to unofficial results.
In Emo, Ed Carlson garnered 309 votes to fend off challenger Ingrid Krampetz (241) and former councillor Geoff Pearce (33).
In addition, incumbent councillors Harri Sheloff (293), Ken Fisher (265), and Gary Judson (245) were re-elected yesterday. But it was newcomer Gerd O’Sullivan who garnered the most votes (328).
Those failing to win a seat on Emo council were Michelle Marinaro (216), Glen Kellar (165), Sylvia Hyatt (160), Vernon Thompson (160), Herb Johnson (142), Daniel Young (73), and Frank Szeder Jr. (42).
Voter turnout was about 57 percent in Emo.
In Alberton, meanwhile, Mike Hammond was re-elected as reeve with 195 votes—edging out Coun. Michael Ford, who earned 183 votes.
Couns. Barb Cournoyer (319) and Doug Mitchell (266) were both re-elected to council Monday. They will be joined by Yves O. DeGagne (294) and Peter Spuzak (254).
Chane Rissman received 184 votes.
Alberton used a vote-by-mail system this time around and increased voter turnout to 47 percent from 30 percent in 2003.
In La Vallee, Emily Watson was re-elected reeve by just two votes over former reeve Ken McKinnon (175-173).
Couns. Freeda Carmondy (218) and Jim Bellez (188) were re-elected to council, where they will be joined by newcomers Ross Donaldson (220) and Lucille MacDonald (179).
Those failing to win a council seat were Len McCormick (141), Dale Stamarski (106), and Brian Trimble (64).
Also Monday, Glenda Bellez (360) beat out Barbara Everett (259) for the Alberton-La Vallee seat on the Rainy River District School Board.
In Chapple, Rilla Race was re-elected as councillor for Ward 2 with 49 votes, defeating George Siemens (18). And James Gibson received 47 votes to win the council seat for Ward 3 over Stefan Szeder (six).
Reeve Peter Van Heyst had been acclaimed, as were Couns. Mark Hyatt (Ward 1) and Rick Neilson (Ward 4).
In Morley, Ken Haw (99), George Heyens (97), Maury Nielson (84), and Bill Romyn (75) were elected the council, joining Reeve Gary Gamsby (acclaimed).
Failing to win a council seat were Gary Jolicouer (57) and Chris Pollard (46).
In the closest race in the district Monday, Mark Chojko-Bolec captured the west-end seat on the Northwest Catholic District School Board with 53 votes, edging out Don Marquis (52) and Kim Desserre (44).
Also Monday, Rainy River elected its first female mayor as Coun. Debbie Ewald beat out fellow councillor Ed Tymkin 206-178.
Elected to council there were Gerry Marchuk (252), Gord Armstrong (250), Brent Anderson (207), and Marilyn McAlister (181).
Voter turnout in Rainy River was 53.03 percent.
In Lake of the Woods Township, incumbent Val Pizey was re-elected as reeve over Bill Lundgren (237-201).
Nancy Gate (175) and Tony Sepers (171) were elected to council for Ward 1 over Jody Gouliquer (66) and Elizabeth Mitchell (46) while Colleen Fadden and Joann Moen were acclaimed in Ward 2.
In Sioux Narrows-Nestor Falls, Gale Black (269) and Lou Kabel (186) were elected as councillors at large—beating out Daniel Bouvier (159).
They will join acclaimed Mayor William Thompson and accalimed Couns. Chan Motlong (Ward 1) and Norbert Dufresne (Ward 2).
And in Atikokan, incumbent Dennis Brown easily was re-elected mayor with 1,144 votes over Robert Davidson, who garnered just 310.
The six councillors elected were William Bell (1,033), Mike Shusterman (988), Bud Dickson (986), Shermin Durand (817), Charlie Viddal (769), and Marj Lambkin (698).
Those failing to win a council seat there were Bob Gosselin (638), Mary Makarenko (606), Marlene Davidson (447), Miles Brown (306), Gayle Green (287), and Darrin Hanlon (157).
(Fort Frances Daily Bulletin)