Fortier elected president of RRDMA

In what might be considered an upset victory, Emo Reeve Russ Fortier was elected president of the Rainy River District Municipal Association during its 13th-annual meeting Saturday in Devlin.
Reeve Fortier was running against Fort Frances Mayor Dan Onichuk, whom many considered the favourite, but Mayor Onichuk’s last-minute withdrawal left Reeve Fortier as the only other declared candidate.
He also was appointed to the Northwestern Health Unit board—a position he currently holds.
Reeve Fortier takes over from outgoing president Valerie Pizey while the post of vice-president—a position Reeve Fortier held last year—went to Morley Reeve Gary Gamsby, who defeated Fort Frances Coun. Tannis Drysdale.
Mayor Onichuk also withdrew his name from the ballot for the association’s rep to the Rainy River Valley Agricultural Society, thereby allowing Linda Armstrong to take over that position for the upcoming year.
Armstrong held that same position last year.
Also Saturday, La Vallee Coun. Freeda Carmody was elected to represent the district on the Rainy River Valley Safety Coalition, defeating Alberton Coun. Mike Ford for that position.
In other business, Reeve Fortier was elected to the position of third vice-president of the Northwestern Ontario Municipal Association (NOMA), replacing Atikokan Mayor Dennis Brown, who is now the first vice-president.
Also elected to the NOMA board were Mayor Onichuk, Coun. Drysdale, and Reeve Gamsby while Emo clerk Brenda Cooke was appointed to the staff of NOMA.
All these positions will have to be ratified by NOMA at a later date.