Emo hosts novice hockey tourney

The Emo-Devlin-Barwick Minor Hockey Association hosted its annual novice tournament last Friday and Saturday but only five teams took part in the round-robin showdown.
They included the host Emo OPP along with four from Fort Frances (Skates and Blades, Times Tigers, Taggs, and Foodtown Fury).
Despite the relative lack of teams, the players put on an excellent performance that had fans biting their nails throughout. Both the ‘A’ and ‘B’ events boiled down to four Fort Frances teams competing for the honours.
In the ‘A-’ final, the Times Tigers battled Taggs after each team had came out of the round-robin with six points.
Taggs got the early jump, taking a 4-2 lead after the first period on goals by Tyson Tkachyk, Matthew Debenedet, Nolan Ross, and David Ross. Colton Spicer netted both goals for the Tigers.
Then early in the second, Braden Webb and Tkachyk (his second) put Taggs up 6-2. But after Spicer cut the lead by one, David Ross made it 7-3 when he scored with just 15 seconds left in the period.
It was all Taggs in the third as Matthew Deschamps and Nolan Ross hit the twine to ice the victory.
In round-robin play, Taggs had beaten Emo OPP 6-2 and the Tigers 7-1. Then after losing 7-3 to Skates and Blades, they came back to beat the Fury 5-2.
Besides their loss to Taggs, the Tigers otherwise were perfect—edging Skates and Blades 4-3, downing Emo OPP 6-4, and doubling the Fury 4-2.
Meanwhile, Skates and Blades crossed sticks with the Fury in the ‘B’ final. The game ws extremely close, with all the scoring coming in a breath-taking second period.
Tyler Mosbeck opened the scoring for the Fury at the 10-minute mark, with Kole Pitkanen then making it 2-0. Thomas Lepine got one back for Skates and Blades but they could not get the equalizer.