District 4-H’ers handed annual awards

About 35 youths were awarded for their hard work and participation over the year at the Rainy River District 4-H Association’s annual awards banquet Friday evening at the Millennium Hall in Stratton.
“It was a good year,” past president Kari Lemelin said of 2006. “I think we have more members at the moment.”
She explained a number of different clubs are running and everyone is enjoying it.
“The clubs are ongoing and there are always new ones starting,” Lemelin stressed, adding the year ahead looks just as good as the past one.
There are a number of different projects to choose from, ranging from drama to woodworking, life skills to livestock, and square dancing to conservation.
“We’re going to keep plunging away,” she said. “It’s fun and a great experience.”
Jason Teeple, president for the upcoming year, added while they have a good number of kids involved, it’s always nice to see more come out.
“The more the better,” he stressed, citing any youth ages 10-21 are welcome to join.
Awards presented were:
•First-Year Members (awarded plaques)—Daniel Anderson, Jessica Haw, Ashley Hughes, Jackie Hughes, Angel Nixon, Damon Short, Robert Stevens, and James Westover;
•Beef Book Awards (sponsored by Safeway)—1. Jared McQuaker and Mitchelle Haw ($200 each) 2. Matt McQuaker ($125) and 3. Nick Donaldson ($75);
•Ontario Plowmen’s Association Award ($100 and certificate given to a deserving agricultural member)—Riley Caul (each ag leader was given a ballot and the name was drawn from a hat);
•Completion of six 4-H projects (presented a pin)—Natasha Bragg, Justin Bujold, Nathan Bujold, Riley Caul, and Halle Shypit;
•Completion of 12 4-H projects (presented a pen/desk set)—Kevin Gemmell, Andrew Morrish, and Samantha Stahn;
•Completion of 18 4-H projects (presented a travel alarm clock)—David Donaldson and Jolene Stahn;
•Leader Certificates—Ken Fisher (five years), Jason Teeple (five years), Bud McQuaker (five years), and Helen Cates (15 years);
•Ontario Aberdeen Angus Assoication—Daniel Anderson, Nathan Bujold, Tyler Nielson, Damon Short, Matt Smith, Nicole Smith, Robert Stevens, and James Westover;
•Ontario Charolais Association—Meagan Anderson, Cody Bodnar, Joe Bodnar, Riley Caul, Jessica Haw, Kerry Hyatt, Jay Neilson, Angel Nixon, Rilee Nixon, Jared McQuaker, and Matt McQuaker;
•Canadian Galloway Association—David Donaldson, Nicholas Donaldson, Jolene Stahn, and Samantha Stahn;
•Ontario Hereford Association—Justin Bujold, Kevin Gemmell, and Ben Miller;
•Ontario Simmental Association—Mitchell Haw, Kelsey McLean, Tyson McLean, Teagan Miller, David Nussbaumer, and Sarah Truelove;
•Rainy River Cattlemen’s Association (gift certificates for first-year beef members)—Daniel Anderson, Jessica Haw, Angel Nixon, Damon Short, Robert Stevens, James Westover, and Rilee Nixon;
•DeGagne Award ($100 plus trophy to the beef club member who accumulates the greatest number of points during the past three years of beef club work)—Mitchell Haw; and
•Rainy River District 4-H Leader’s Association and the Toronto Dominion/Canada Trust Award ($100 plus trophy to a member nominated by a leader, followed up with application form and essay by the member)—Haley Heyens.