District 4-H honours members, presents awards

Sam Odrowski

Parents, volunteers, and 4-H members packed the Millennium Hall in Stratton on Friday evening for the annual awards night.
Over 100 people turned out to the event to enjoy a meal and recognize all of the hard work 4-H members and volunteers put in throughout the 2018 season.
“The banquet is to celebrate all the accomplishments and achievements of the past year,” noted Angela Haw, Rainy River District 4-H co-ordinator.
In 2018, the club welcomed 11 new members who were all celebrated at the banquet, with each receiving a plaque and T-shirt.
During the season 4-H saw great success in its six different beef clubs, consisting of 33 members total, which created a large sale of cattle at the Emo Fair last August.
“They each had one animal and some of them had two, bringing a heifer and a steer,” Haw noted.
There has also been a general increase in beef members over the past few years which is exciting for 4-H, she added,
“I just think it’s a good program because the kids have a lot of responsibilities as far as taking care of their beef animal,” Haw explained.
4-H is also a great opportunity for its members to interact with other kids from across the district, make new friends, and build life skills.
With clubs wrapping up in the fall each year, Haw said the banquet is a good opportunity for those involved in 4-H to reconnect.
“It has been a few months since the last club was done, so it’s nice for them to get together again, visit, and enjoy a meal together,” she remarked.
During the banquet the top beef books for this year’s senior division went to both Kaylie Croswell and Aynsley Williams.
The first-place beef book in the junior division went to Madison Bliss, while second-place was awarded to Carenna Haw.
The first year beef members for 4-H’s 2018 season included Meagan Anderson, Caleb Peters, Georgia Romyn, Danielle Schram, Aynsley Teeple, Benjamin Teeple, Daelyn Teeple, Samuel Teeple, Mirana Wilson, and Mia Woolsey.
The Ontario Plowmen’s Association Award went to Madison Bliss, who received $100 and a certificate for her work in the field of agriculture.
Kaitlyn Hay was awarded $150 and the Rainy River Feeder Finance Co-op Carcass Award for having the highest-grading market steer.
Jared Flatt received the Rainy River Hereford Association 4-H Carcass Award for having the highest-grading market steer with Hereford influence.
Flatt, as well as Kaitlyn Hay, and Cassie Teeple each received the Grand Valley Fortifiers Carcass Award for having the top three market steers.
The DeGagne Award was presented to Carenna Haw who also received $250 for accumulating the greatest number of points in the beef club over the past three years.
Morgan Dessere received the Rainy River District 4-H Leader’s Association & The TD Canada Trust Leadership Award, along with $200 for writing the best essay on what 4-H means to him.
There was also a large number of Breed Awards distributed at the banquet.
Breed Awards from the Ontario Angus Association went to Meagan Anderson, Madison Bliss, Brandon Croswell, Erika Gerula, Kaitlyn Hay, Jaycee Mose, Caleb Peters, Gregory Peters, Brett Schram, Danielle Schram, Cassidy Teeple, Miranda Wilson, Trent Wilson, and Mia Woolsey.
Breed Awards from the Ontario Charolais Association were recieved by Taylor Croswell, Alanna Gerula, Christina Gerula, Carenna Haw, Hayden Haw, Hanna LeDrew, Joshua Peters, Georgia Romyn, Benjamin Teeple, Bradley Teeple, Logan Teeple, Nicholas Teeple, Samuel Teeple, and Serena Teeple.
Breed Awards for the Ontario Beef Farmers of Ontario-Crossbred Animal was awarded to Cale Wilson.
Aaron Bujold, Connor Bujold, Avery Cates, Jared Flatt, Malena Flatt, Braydon Kreger, Kennah LeBlanc, Raelle Redford, and Aynsley Williams recieved Breed Awards from the Ontario Junior Limousin Association.
And the Breed Awards from the Simmental Association went to Kailey Croswell and Aynsey Teeple.
Leadership certificates were awarded to Michael Bodnar for his five years of service, Louise Bliss for her 30 years of service and Ellen Chojko-Bolec for her 40 years of service.
4-H members involved in projects throughout the year were also awarded and recognize their work at the banquet.
Avery Cates, Christina Gerula, Ayden Kelly, Caydence Lundgren, and Cassidy Teeple were awarded for their six projects, while Connor Bujold and Erika Gerula were awarded for their 12, and Alanna Gerula was awarded for her 18.
As well, youth leaders, Morgan Dessere, Alanna Gerula, and Aynsley Williams were awarded backpacks that were sponsored by Kubota Canada and beach towels that were sponsored by the local association for their leadership.
A cheque for $500 was pretsented by Dr. Bob Lidkea to the Rainy River District 4-H Association at the beginning of the banquet.
He shared a short speech summarizing the Kiwanis Club’s involvement with 4-H which dates back to its inception in 1924.
Haw wold like to thank all involved in making the banquet such a special event each year.
“We do really appreciate the support that we get from a lot of businesses and organizations and the volunteers that come help to set up and clean,” she lauded.
“We just have such a good group of leaders and volunteers.”
“The parents as well, the parents are very helpful,” Haw added.
4-H will remain on it’s break for the coming weeks but the beef clubs will be starting back up at the end of April or early May.
Overall Haw was extremely pleased with the 2018 4-H season.
“It was a great year, I’m very happy with everything that went on,” she smiled.