Business award nominees named

The Fort Frances Chamber of Commerce’s 10th-annual business awards gala slated for Oct. 29 is shaping up to be a night to remember, with dozens of district residents having been nominated.
Chamber office manager Dawn Booth confirmed Monday morning that a total of 85 nominations—some of which were for the same nominees and categories—came in by Friday’s deadline.
“We did very well this year. I’m pleased with the turnout,” she added, noting a total of 65 nominations were submitted last year, listing 55 different nominees.
Booth said while nomination forms have been out for a few weeks, most of them were turned in last week—with a last-minute flood on Friday.
“I’m pretty thrilled. It’s exciting,” said Chamber first vice-president Christine Denby.
“We didn’t have to do a huge push,” she noted. “Other years, we have to extend the deadline by a week or two, hoping we get more nominations in. Here we had 85.
“It should make for a really fun evening,” Denby added. “If all the nominees come out with an extra person or two, from their work or their spouse or partner, it’s gonna be fun.”
The next step is to choose three judges, who will gather and select the winners at a meeting later this month.
The winners then will be announced at the Chamber’s 10-annual business awards banquet, which is slated for Saturday, Oct. 29 at La Place Rendez-Vous.
The nominees are:
•Business of the Year (one-15 employees)—Angler’s Pro Shop; Crazy Ladies’ Fabric; Fort Frances General Supply; Kish-Gon-Dug (Canada) Ltd.; M.L. Caron Electric; Mark’s Work Wearhouse; Nor-West Animal Clinic; Rainy Lake Sports & Tackle; Rempel Furniture; Share Bear’s Place/Sears Canada; Skates & Blades; Sunrise Meats & Sausage; and Trail’s End Lodge.
•Business of the Year (16+ employees)—Beaver Mills Market; Canadian Tire; Manitou Forest Products; Tompkin’s Hardware; and Wal-Mart Canada Corp.
•Employee of the Year (private sector)—Dianne Faragher (Energy Fitness Centre) and Renate Winkler (Pharmasave).
•Employee of the Year (not-for-profit)—None.
•Business Woman of the Year—Cindy Allan (Celeste’s Hair Design); Carol Barrell (Carol’s Canteen); Susan Bodnarchuk (Holmlund Financial); Aileen Brown (Crafter’s Corner); Deb Cornell (Rainy River Elk Company and Clover Valley Farmers’ Market); Connie Cuthbertson (Northwood’s Gallery & Gifts); Nancy Daley-Fulton (Canadian Mental Health Association); Kathy Dolph (This ’n That); Tina Fontana (Rainy Lake Sports & Tackle); Robin Jenson (The Beauty Chalet); Dianne Faragher (Energy Fitness Centre); Brenda Kellar (Pizza Hut); Cindy Kellett (Wal-Mart Canada); Angie Korzinski (Rusty Myers Flying Service); Jackie Lampi-Hughes (Energy Fitness Centre); Donna Lowey (Lowey’s Greenhouses and Clover Valley Farmers’ Market); Tina Selman (Fort Frances Mohawk); Sheila Shaw (Canadian Mental Health Association); Colleen Vennechenko (The Corner Closet); Katie Whitehead (Katie’s Critter Care); and Jo Woolsey (Aurora Wind Feeds).
•Customer Service Award (business)—Energy Fitness Centre; M.L. Caron Electric; Mark’s Work Wearhouse; Northwoods Gallery & Gifts; Pinewood Sports & Marine; Pharmasave; Rainy Lake Sports & Tackle; TD Canada Trust; Trail’s End Lodge; and Wal-Mart Canada.
•Customer Service Award (individual)—Bruce Armstrong (Gillons’ Insurance Brokers); Corrie Bedard (Canadian Tire); Debbie Bird (Celeste’s Hair Design); Glenn Cymbalisty (Wal-Mart Canada Corp.); Arlene Georgeson (Curves for Women); Tami Kjerulf (Abitibi-Consolidated); Crystal Lindal (Mark’s Work Wearhouse); Allan Olsther (Sight & Sound Audiotronic); Rose Mondor (Canadian Tire); Gina Sigurdson (TD Canada Trust); Jayleen Wiedehoeft (Howarth’s Home Centre); and Lesley Zaparniuk Bell (Canada Post).
•Entrepreneur of the Year—Phil Gavel (North Auto/Lambert’s Garage & Auto Wrecking); Larry George (Wayne George Grading Ltd.); Dave Goodman (Borderland Esso); Albert Haver and Gary Greengrass (Universal Enterprise); Chad Jackson (Pro-Shine); Cameron and Rita Moorhouse (C.W. Moorhouse Family Practice); Mark and Cher Pruys (Pruys Direct & Art By Cher); and Erin Rencher (Erin’s Candy).
•Safety Award (business)—Fort Frances Fire Department; La Vallee Fire Department.; and Northwestern Ontario Crime Stoppers.
•Safety Award (individual)—Ted Brown (Ontario Forestry Safe Workplace Association); Fire Chief Steve Richardson (Fort Frances Fire Department); and Wayne Riches (Fort Frances Fire Department).
•Accessibility Award—Alpha Upsilon Chapter of Beta Sigma; Community Living Fort Frances District (Activity Centre); and United Native Friendship Centre;
•Tony Beyak Memorial Volunteer of the Year Award—Ruth Caldwell; Diane Maxey; and John McTaggart.
•Business of the Decade—Celeste’s Hair Design; Emo Feeds; Ernest Thompson Distributors; and Masquerade Costume & Novelty.
•Lifetime Achievement—Betty’s of Fort Frances; Gillons’ Insurance Brokers Ltd.; Holmlund Financial Services; John McTaggart; Glenn Witherspoon; and Gloria Wood.
For more information of the upcoming awards banquet, call Booth at 274-5773.