Shatner among honourees

The Canadian Press

OTTAWA–Gov. Gen. Julie Payette honoured 39 people with the Order of Canada this morning, including actor William Shatner, writer Ann-Marie MacDonald and lawyer James Lockyer.
Shatner is being given one of Canada’s highest civilian honours for his 60-year career in theatre, television and film; MacDonald for her art and advocacy for women and on LGBTQ issues; and Lockyer for his work championing people wrongly convicted of crimes.
Mathematician Robert Langlands, filmmaker Alanis Obomsawin and actor Donald Sutherland are also being made companions of the order, the most prestigious of its three levels.
Payette presided over the ceremony at Rideau Hall in Ottawa.
The list of today’s inductees:
•Robert Phelan Langlands, of Montreal and Princeton, N.J., for contributions to mathematics
•Alanis Obomsawin, of Montreal, for documentary filmmaking and promoting Indigenous issues
•Donald McNichol Sutherland, of Saint John, N.B., for acting and international promotion of Canada
•Francois Crepeau, of Montreal, for contributions to international law and human rights
•Ann-Marie MacDonald, of Toronto, for writing and promoting LGBTQ+ and women’s rights
•William Shatner, of Montreal and Los Angeles, for acting and charitable work
•Peter Suedfeld, of Vancouver, for research in psychological responses to harsh environments
•Ian E. Wilson, of Ottawa, for service to Library and Archives Canada and the preservation of history
•Shelley Ann Marie Brown, of Saskatoon, for trailblazing for women in accounting
•Raymond J. Cole, of Vancouver, for research and education in environmentally responsible architecture
•Patrick Ralph Crawford, of Winnipeg, for improving the practice and promoting the history of dentistry
•Joanne Cuthbertson and Charles Fischer, of Calgary, for philanthropy and promoting education, children’s health, the arts and responsible business
•Thomas Ralston Denton, of Winnipeg, for championing refugees and immigrants
•Claire Deschenes, of Quebec City, for trailblazing for women in engineering
•Lyse Doucet, of Bathurst, N.B. and London, U.K., for international journalism
•Edna Agnes Ekhivalak Elias, of Qurluqtuq, Nunavut, for preserving Inuit language and culture as commissioner of Nunavut
•Jean Andre Elie, of Montreal, for supporting the arts
•Ann McCain Evans, of Florenceville-Bristol, N.B., for philanthropy and volunteerism
•David Glenn Fountain, of Halifax, for philanthropy and fundraising, especially for education and health care
•John Ferguson Godfrey, of Toronto, for public service as a politician, educator and environmentalist
•Serge Gouin, of Outremont, Que., for advancing the communications industry in Quebec
•Barbara Jackman, of Toronto, for championing refugees and immigrants
•Christina Jennings, of Toronto, for work in film and television (and creating “Murdoch Mysteries”)
•Andy Jones, of St. John’s, N.L., for acting and authorship of children’s books
•Bengt Jorgen, of Toronto, for promoting and teaching ballet
•Robert Korneluk, of Ottawa, for research in molecular genetics and immunotherapy
•Gilbert Laporte, of Montreal, for research in decision sciences
•Walter J. Learning, of Fredericton, for service to theatre as an actor, director and writer
•James Lockyer, of Toronto, for championing the wrongly convicted
•Joseph Robert Nuss, of Montreal, for service to human rights as a judge and lawyer
•Hanna Maria Pappius, of Montreal, for research in neurochemistry, promoting animal rights, and service to the Polish-Canadian community
•Kathleen Reichs, of Montreal and Charlotte, N.C., an honorary appointment for work in forensic anthropology and as a crime novelist
•Henri-Paul Rousseau, of Montreal, for work as an administrator and economic adviser
•Brenda Harris Singer, of Toronto, for promoting community-based mental-health services
•Arthur Slutsky, of Toronto, for medical research and as a hospital administrator
•Dorothy E. Smith, of Vancouver and Toronto, for advancing feminism in the study of sociology
•Allan H. Wachowich, of Edmonton, for service as a lawyer, judge and community volunteer
•John Wade, of Winnipeg, for contributions to medical education and practice