It is with great sadness that the family of Norman Cyr announces his passing on Saturday, May 28, 2022, at the La Verendrye General Hospital in Fort Frances, Ont.

Norman was born on August 7, 1951, in Lake Despair, Ontario to Roderick and Lucy Cyr. He grew up in Naicatchewenin First Nation and made the community his home for most of his life. He worked as a firefighter as a young man and then turned to carpentry. He taught many young men the trade of building homes. He enjoyed watching stock car races, playing horseshoes, watching baseball and hockey and enjoyed square dancing. He met his wife, Gladys, at square dancing and they were united in marriage on August 7, 2021. He loved being surrounded by family and welcomed her large brood warmly.

He will be missed by his wife Gladys; stepchildren Shelly (Ken) Morrison, Derek Geyshick (Jackie), Clint Geyshick (Tanya), Lori Geyshick and Tina Villiburn (Don); 15 grandchildren and six great-grandchildren; brother Wilfred (Dorothy) Cyr and their children Zechariah Cyr, Shane (Tessa) Woods, and Charles (Nicole) Woods and nieces Pamela Bombay (Ken) and her children Deanna (Ted), Christine, Shane, Jonah, Christian and their families; Carolyn Jourdain and nephews Brad (Rhonda) and Gary Jourdain and their families. He also had a special place in his heart for Colleen Smith and her children and grandchildren; Sharon Smith and her children and grandchildren; Janice Smith and her children and grandchildren; and Gloria Smith and her son.

Norman was predeceased by his parents Roderick and Lucy Cyr; siblings Mary (Ray) Jourdain, Buddy Cyr, Mabel Cyr; and niece Jacqueline Cyr-Nelson.

A visitation will be held on Wednesday, June 1, 2022, from 7:00 until 9:00 p.m. at Green Funeral Home in Fort Frances.

A celebration of life will be held on Thursday, June 2, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. at the Naicatchewenin Community Center with Larry Laquete officiating.

Cremation will take place following the service and the ashes will be laid to rest with his family in Naicatchewenin First Nation.

The pallbearers will be Clint Geyshick, Derek Geyshick, Lance Geyshick, Jason Teeple, Robert Dean Morrison and Ted Green.

The honourary pallbearers will be Bruce Black, Raymond Cyr, Russell Cyr, Curtis Smith, Terry Smith and Tim Romyn.

Online condolences may be made in care of