Many thanks

Dear editor:
Congratulations to my friend, April Matheson, the Fun in the Sun 2001 Queen and all the other contestants who ran in the competition. It was wonderful to participate with friends and also develop new friendships.
This event was a great experience for me and I had a lot of fun!
Thank you to La Place Rendez-Vous for being my major sponsor and also assisting me with button sales. The “mix-and-mingle” was held upstairs in the Vous banquet facilities. It was a good opportunity to meet the families and sponsors of the other contestants.
Thank you to the Fun in the Sun committee for organizing the competition. A special thank you goes to Rachel Thiesen and Sherri Puddicombe for all their work and the tremendous amount of time they sacrificed.
Thank you to the judges who also gave their time and had a difficult job to do.
On a more personal level, I have many people to thank! First of all, thank you to my parents, Brian and Jean, my grandparents, Bud and Elaine, my sisters, Brianne and Megan, and my brother, Matthew. Thanks to my special friends, Carling and Sarah Barton. They all helped me with my float and supported me throughout these busy past weeks.
Thank you to Mrs. Brenda Allan for her sewing expertise and helping me with my banners; Dan Poperechny for his guitar playing at Entertainment Night; Glenn Carmody for lending me the trailer we used in the parade; Mr. Yellowega from Ron’s Auto Body for letting us decorate the float in his shop; and Janet Bishop and Blair Lowey for lending us their house plants for the desert on our float; John Dutton for supplying the music stands; and all the children who rode on my float, “It’s A Small World.”
A special thanks to Mme. Borka Gauthier from Fort Dance Studio, who helped supply costumes for the children. Last but not least, thank you to all the generous people who helped me by purchasing my buttons.
This year, I look forward to helping with various community events, meeting many more Fort Frances residents, and assisting with the planning of next year’s Fun in the Sun competition.
Sarah E. Hebert