Great team effort

Dear editor:
Congratulations! You did it!
Thank you to all who helped Atikokan win the Merit Prize for Fitness in this year’s Kraft “Hockeyville” competition!
Your online support over the past three weeks has given us enough votes to win a day of on-ice hockey clinics with an NHL hockey legend in our arena (for best demonstrating the importance of an active lifestyle and promoting healthier living across the age groups).
We thank you for your support throughout the competition, and hope you will continue to appreciate the great game of hockey and all that it represents to the small communities in Northwestern Ontario and across Canada.
A special thank you to Jinx Stus and Patricia Lambkin for bringing our community into the hearts and homes of thousands of Canadians through their special talents used in creating our video.
Thank you also to Mike McKinnon, Mike Sorenson, Dutka Signs, the Township of Atikokan, Dianne Warpula, MPP Bill Mauro, and MP Ken Boshcoff for your support and promotion through local media coverage, website design (, creative displays, and information circulation.
Most of all, thank you to all who voted for us (family, friends, and co-workers, communities, businesses and schools), and to Kraft, CBC, the NHL, and the NHLPA for the opportunity to participate.
Though we did not make the finals this year, we played a great game and appreciate the team effort put forth by all. We hope you will continue to support the competition and help choose the community that most deserves the title of Kraft “Hockeyville” 2007!
The semi-finals began March 4 with the Kraft “Hockeyville” show on CBC, where the 10 finalists were highlighted, followed by voting to select the top five.
Then another round of voting will be held to select the grand prize winner (to be announced on Hockey Night in Canada on March 17). Best of luck to all those who are still “in the game.”
Thank you again for supporting hockey, the Voyageurs, and the town of Atikokan!
Kathy, Kim,
Nicole, and Marilyn
Atikokan ‘Hockeyville’
Committee 2007