Salute inductees

Saturday evening will see the induction of a new group of people into the Fort Frances Sports Hall of Fame.
The original idea of Dave Egan, Terry Ogden and Larry Patrick has become a full reality. This year’s inductees cover a broad range of sports. From powerlifting, to football, to hockey, and racquet sports, this is a diverse group of individuals and teams being recognized.
It was important for the steering group–from the first year forward–that the hall of fame be filled with more than hockey and this year, it is a clear indication that all sports across the district are being recognized.
The Tkachuks, Mary-Beth and Bob, together have championed racquet sports in Fort Frances. As builders they are being recognized as being instrumental in the development of the tennis courts and creating vibrant youth squash teams.
Scott Fawcett in another builder credits his wife, Colleen, for making homes through 13 seasons in eight different locations, supporting their moves, baking and often feeding athletes in their home. With 10 championships to his credit, Scott will join other builders on Saturday night.
They are not alone in the builder’s category, being joined by Bruce Mcleod who grew the Western Collegiate Hockey Association and developing a strong successful women’s program.
Keno Christiansen will be recognized as another builder coach. For over 55 years, Keno has been behind the bench coaching multiple generations of hockey players.
Dave Mitchell is the lone athlete being recognized in this year’s banquet as a powerlifter who earned success provincially, nationally and internationally.
Barney Maher, with his jovial spirit, shepherded the high school hockey program and after retiring became instrumental in putting together successful committees running Ducks Unlimited programs in the district. He, too, will be remembered as a builder.
Two teams will be recognized the 1996 Canadian Police Curling championship team (Clint Barton, Scott Gobeil, Don Robertson and Steve Maki) and the 1953-54 Jaycee hockey team.
The recognition of all of these individuals, is a proud legacy of commitment to sport and creating success for athletes.
We salute all the current members of the Fort Frances Sports Hall of Fame and this year’s inductees.
–Jim Cumming