Warroad team chasing Allan Cup

I recently visited the Warroad Pioneer newspaper office and met up with one of Cal Marvin’s sons, who was picking up the new Warroad senior hockey photo.
The Warroad Lakers hockey team still exists but with a different name—the Islanders. And they’re on the trail for another Allan Cup title.
This past weekend, they were hosting the first game of a series against Ile De Chene North Stars from the Hanover Tache Hockey League. The winner of this Manitoba series will meet the Saskatoon champs at The Gardens in Warroad.
“Although Cal is retired from this sports circle, he still maintains a watchful eye in some capacity,” said his son. “You just cannot retire a sports figure.”
• • •
If you want to meet some of your friends that maybe you haven’t seen for ages, just journey down to the Seven Clans Casino in Warroad and there they are.
Former Emolites Elmer and Betty Morphet, now of Kenora, were there, as were George Olson and his wife, Henrietta, of Williams, Mn.
George, at one time, coached Little League baseball in Williams as well as the Williams team that played in the Rainy River District Fastball League, winning several league and championships titles before it folded a couple of years ago along with Baudette.
• • •
About 100 people attended a St. Patrick’s supper Sunday evening. Neil Grant recited a couple of Irish poems and said grace in Irish.
Heather Oltsher noted 28 suppers also were delivered, most to the Golden Age Manor.
The raffle for a cross-stitched framed picture, done by Cathy Leek, was won by Bob Loerzel.
• • •
A spring tea and bake sale, sponsored by the CWL, is slated Saturday, April 6 from 1:30-3:30 p.m. at Our Lady of the Way School in Stratton. Donations of items for the bake, penny, and white elephant tables would be greatly appreciated.
A homemade quilt also will be raffled off, with tickets available for $1 each from CWL members. Contact Sandy Neilson (483-5421) for more info.
• • •
Tony’s annual hockey tournament, which had been slated for this Friday and Saturday at the Emo Arena, has been is cancelled. “There’s just too much other activities like Easter going on to have a successful tourney,” said arena manager Tony Bliss.
We will have to run one early in the fall, he noted.
• • •
St. Patrick’s will hold its Holy Thursday service March 28 at 9:30 a.m., Good Friday (March 29) at 3 p.m., and Holy Saturday at 7:30 p.m.
Meanwhile, Calvary Baptist will combine with the Barwick Community Church for a Good Friday service March 29 at 11 a.m., with lunch to follow.
Guest speaker will be Les Abbott of British Columbia.
Easter services at St. George’s Anglican include Maundy Thursday (March 28) at 7 p.m., Good Friday (March 29) at 10 a.m., and Easter Sunday (March 31) at 10 a.m.
Finally, Knox United in Emo and Guthrie at Devlin are having a combined Maundy Thursday service at 7:30 p.m. in Devlin, then the Good Friday service switches back to Emo at 10 a.m.
Easter Sunday services will be held in Devlin at 9:45 a.m. and then in Emo at 11 a.m.
• • •
The High League group at Off Lake Covenant Church was in Winnipeg earlier this month, where they got together with other groups of the Covenant church there for fellowship.
Off Lake will celebrate Maundy Thursday (March 28) with supper in the lower hall at 6 p.m., followed by a service at 7. Easter Sunday will begin with a pancake breakfast at 8 a.m., with the service at 9.
• • •
The pulpit guest speaker for both services at the Christian Reformed Church in Emo last Sunday was Pastor Bill Versteeg of Thunder Bay.
The guest speaker this Sunday (March 24) will be Rev. Anthony Schweitzer from the Hope CRC in Winnipeg.
• • •
Cribbage winners at the Emo Legion last Wednesday (March 13) were Loraine and Gerald Bullied (high), with consolations to Mark Randall and Brent Kellar.
Connie Hill won the door prize.
Cribbage winners there this past Saturday were Eleanor Kuchma and Wendy Woodgate, with consolations to Merv and Margaret Benjamin. The 500 winners were Marg Ramsdale and Jose Balcewich, with consolations to Muriel Cooper and Kay Schulz.
Donna Morrish won the door prize.

Posted in Uncategorized