Veteran nominees fall short

The Associated Press

NASHVILLE—For the second-straight year, a baseball veterans committee failed to elect to the Hall of Fame any of the 10 candidates up for consideration.
The Pre-Integration Era Committee weighed the merits of six players, three executives, and one of the game’s pioneers—all of whom made their mark before Jackie Robinson broke the colour barrier in 1947.
None of those eligible received the 12 of 16 votes (75 percent) necessary for induction.
The committee announced its decision today at the winter meetings.
Doc Adams, who has been credited with creating what would become the shortstop position and helped establish the nine-inning game and 90-foot basepaths, came closest with 10 votes.
Nineteenth-century players Bill Dahlen and Harry Stovey each got eight votes.
Sam Breadon, Wes Ferrell, August “Garry” Herrmann, Marty Marion, Frank McCormick, Chris von der Ahe, and Bucky Walters received three or fewer votes each.
“It’s an association that’s hard to crack,” Hall-of-Fame manager and committee member Bobby Cox said.
“They were fully vetted.”
Last year, the Golden Era committee failed to elect any of its candidates.
The Expansion Era committee (1973 and later) votes again at the 2016 winter meetings in Washington, D.C.